F1 News

These are all the winners of the 2023 FIA Prize Giving Gala

These are all the winners of the 2023 FIA Prize Giving Gala

09-12-2023 13:30
Author profile picture

Nicole Mulder

At last, Max Verstappen received his third World Championship trophy at the FIA Prize Giving Gala on Friday night. Christian Horner accepted the trophy for winning constructor for the second time in a row on behalf of Red Bull Racing. In addition, however, there were many other winners to whom a trophy was awarded.

Verstappen and Red Bull receive trophies in Formula 1

The highlight of the evening was Verstappen, who received the Formula 1 world champion trophy for the third time in his career after a record-breaking season in which he won 19 out of 22 Grands Prix and four out of six sprint races. The constructors' title was received by Red Bull team boss Horner.

Dennis receives Formula E trophy

Jake Dennis received his first Formula E trophy after a season in which consistency earned him the coveted title. Envision Racing was crowned the best team in the all-electric racing class.

Winners in Rally and WEC

Toyota Gazoo Racing had a particularly successful night, winning trophies for driver, co-driver and constructor titles in no fewer than three competitions: the FIA World Rally Championship, FIA World Endurance Championship and FIA World Rally-Raid Championship. The Toyota Gazoo Racing team of Sebastien Buemi, Brendon Hartley and Ryo Hirakawa claimed their second Hypercar World Endurance Drivers' Championship in a row, while the Japanese team secured their fifth consecutive WEC constructors' title.

Finn Kalle Rovanperä and co-driver Jonne Halttunen received their second set of trophies becoming two-time WRC champions. Nasser Al-Attiyah and his French co-driver Mathieu Baumel from Andorra retained their World Rally-Raid driver and co-driver championship for the second season.

Johan Kristoffersson was honoured for his sixth title in the World Rallycross Championship. His team, Kristoffersson Motorsport, put in another dominant performance against strong opponents this year, securing a second title in a row.

Pourchaire and Bortoleto win in F2 and F3

Theo Pourchaire and Gabriel Bortoleto received trophies for their respective Formula 2 and Formula 3 titles, while karters Paolo Ippolito, Kirill Kutskov and Dries Van Langendonck won the KZ, OK and Junior categories. The young karting champions received their trophies from the hands of three-time F1 champion Max Verstappen.

Raffaele Marciello (Mercedes-AMG) and Luke Browning (Hitech Pulse-Eight) won their second and first FIA World Championships, respectively, in the Formula 3 and GT World Championship, which were part of the Macau Grand Prix again this year after a three-year absence.

Piastri and Alonso fall in prizes

Oscar Piastri won the award for Rookie of the Year, Sadiq Kalawadh from Bahrain was Outstanding Official of the Year, and Fernando Alonso won the award for Action of the Year for his overtaking move on Sergio Perez on the final lap of the Brazilian Grand Prix. Christian von Koenigsegg received the FIA President's Innovation Medal for his life's work and contributions to automotive engineering.