Grand Prix

Brazilian Grand Prix

Circuit length
5.031 km
rounds count
fastest lap

Brazilian Grand Prix

The Brazil Grand Prix held at Interlagos is one of the favourite tracks of many fans worldwide, being an all-time classic on the Formula 1 calendar, known for the exciting races held in Sao Paulo. The Formula 1 World Championship visited the track first as a non-official race in 1972 but it has not been on the calendar in every season as several races were held in Jacarepagua.

F1 Standings


F1 Brazil Grand Prix 2023

The 2023 Brazil Grand Prix (or as currently known, the Sao Paulo Grand Prix), takes place on the first weekend of November. Overtaking is not the easiest thanks to the technical final two sectors, but there are great opportunities in the breaking zones following the long straights in Sector 1, which was taken advantage of by Lewis Hamilton in 2021, as he won the race starting in P10.

The 2023 Brazilian Grand Prix was won by Max Verstappen. The Dutchman won the race comfortably, and Lando Norris came second. Fernando Alonso and Sergio Perez engaged in a fantastic duel, with the Spaniard beating Perez to the podium place by less than one-tenth. 

Where is the Brazil Grand Prix held?

The Brazil Grand Prix is held at the Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace, commonly known as the Interlagos Circuit. It is situated in the Interlagos neighbourhood in Sao Paulo, which is the city with the highest population in the country. It is located in the Southeast of Brazil, next to the Atlantic Ocean. The track has been open since 1940, and it is visited by Formula 1, the Stock Car Pro Series, and TCR South America.

Brazil GP history 

The Brazil Grand Prix has taken place at Interlagos 40 times, but only 39 times as part of the world championship. The first Grand Prix in 1972 was an experimental event where Sao Paulo earned its place for the following year. The event has also been held at Jacarepagua 10 times. It has been raced at Interlagos consistently since 1990, but the event had to be cancelled in 2020 because of the Covid-19 pandemic.

Alain Prost has won the most races in Brazil, but only one of them happened in Sao Paulo. As a result, Michael Schumacher has the most wins at Interlagos, finishing on the top step of the podium four times. Sebastian Vettel also has won three times, Lewis Hamilton is the most successful driver at the circuit on the current grid, similarly to the German, he has won three times. Max Verstappen and George Russell are the other drivers on the current grid to win a race in Brazil. Felipe Massa famously won in 2008 but lost the World Championship to Hamilton thanks to the Briton overtaking Timo Glock on the final lap.

In terms of qualifying, five drivers share the most Pole Positions with three at Interlagos: Ayton Senna, Mika Häkkinen, Rubens Barrichello, Felipe Massa, and Lewis Hamilton. While he has the most wins on this circuit, Michael Schumacher only managed to get one pole position at the venue. Other than Hamilton, Max Verstappen, Valtteri Bottas, Kevin Magnussen, and Nico Hulkenberg are the only other drivers on the current grid to secure the P1 starting spot in Brazil.

What time does the Brazil F1 Grand Prix 2023 start?

The 2023 Brazil Grand Prix starts on Sunday, 5 November at 14:00 local time (18:00 BST). The rest of the weekend is different compared to the normal format because there will be a sprint race at Interlagos. Therefore, there is only one 60-minute practice session on Friday, 3 November at 11:30 local time (14:30 BST). Qualifying will then take place on Friday afternoon at 15:00 local time. This will form the grid for Sunday’s Grand Prix. Sprint Shootout will take place at 11:00 local time on Saturday, with a 100 km Sprint Race on Saturday afternoon at 15:30 local time.