Formula 1 teams

There are 11 or 12 teams on the grid yet for 2020 and according to FIA President Jean Todt, it will not happen in 2021 either. On the other hand: with the financial problems that Force India had in 2018, you can also look at it like: 'There are still 10 teams on the grid'. Despite the same number of teams being on the grid, however, Formula 1 is going to be different in 2020.

Toro Rosso have officially changed their name to AlphaTauri, rebranding the former team of Sebastian Vettel and Max Verstappen to the name of the Red Bull clothing brand. The Bulls are set to undergo a change, just like Racing Point: all thanks to sponsor Aston Martin.

The car manufacturer will still be Red Bull's title sponsor in 2020, but from 2021, it will rebrand Racing Point to Aston Martin F1 Team. However, that doesn't mean Aston Martin will be a works team, as they will continue to race with Mercedes power units.

Mercedes themselves will most likely still be active in F1 after 2020, but who will man the two seats is yet to be determined. Max Verstappen signed an extension at Red Bull, just like Charles Leclerc at Ferrari. For now, Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas will be the line-up at the Silver Arrows as they look to win Mercedes’ seventh straight double championship!

Read more Read less

You will be logged out and redirected to the homepage