Grand Prix

Hungarian Grand Prix

Circuit length
rounds count
fastest lap

Formula 1 Hungarian Grand Prix

The Hungarian Grand Prix has been a permanent fixture on the Formula 1 calendar since 1986 and is popular amongst European fans from across the continent. The circuit has remained relatively unchanged since it was first introduced. Lewis Hamilton is the most successful F1 driver at the Hungaroring with eight wins, twice as many as the second most successful driver Michael Schumacher. Max Verstappen has just one win in Hungary, as does Fernando Alonso, Daniel Ricciardo and Esteban Ocon.

F1 Hungarian Grand Prix 2023

The 2023 Hungarian Grand Prix takes place on Sunday, July 23, at the Hungaroring in Mogyoród near Budapest. It will be the 11th race in the 2023 Formula 1 season but is in an unusual calendar position. Traditionally, the race in Hungary is the final event before F1's summer break, but that's not the case this year. It's the penultimate event before the F1 drivers get a break.

Where is the Hungarian F1 Grand Prix held?

The Hungarian Grand Prix is held at the Hungaroring in Mogyoród, Pest County. The circuit is northeast of Hungary's capital, Budapest, located towards the north of Hungary. Its proximity to Budapest, around 25km, makes it a popular destination for many European fans, with low-budget airlines flying from the United Kingdom and many European cities.

Hungarian GP history

The Hungarian Grand Prix was the first event for Formula 1 behind the Iron Curtain. It was originally going to be a street circuit, but the government built a new one just outside Budapest. Construction started just eight months before the first Grand Prix in 1986. 

Ayrton Senna secured the very first pole position at the Hungarian Grand Prix. He and Nelson Piquet battled for the win, and the latter was in the lead when the chequered flag dropped. Nigel Mansell joined them on the podium. With the race being a permanent fixture since the mid-80s, all of the big names have raced at the venue. 

Recent Hungarian GP history

Michael Schumacher took his first Hungarian pole position in 1994 and won the race. On the same day, Jos Verstappen secured his first of two podiums in Formula 1. Schumacher became World Champion at the venue in 2001 despite it being just the 13th event on the calendar (out of 17). Ferrari became Constructors Champions when Rubens Barrichello led a one-two in 2002. 

Fernando Alonso secured his first F1 career victory at the circuit in 2003. Jenson Button achieved the same statistic in a wet 2006 race. Lewis Hamilton achieved the first of his eight wins in Hungary during the 2007 season. He would go on to dominate proceedings for the best part of the next 15 years. 

In 2019, Max Verstappen achieved his first career pole position, though he wasn't fast enough to keep Mercedes' Hamilton behind him on Sunday. Esteban Ocon took a surprise victory in 2021 in a red-flag and rain-affected race. Last time out, George Russell achieved his first career pole position, with Verstappen winning on Sunday.

What time does the 2023 Hungarian F1 Grand Prix start?

The 2023 Hungarian Grand Prix starts at 14:00 BST/09:00 EDT (15:00 local time) on Sunday, July 23. The race can be followed with GPblog’s liveblog or your local TV broadcaster. In the United Kingdom, this is Sky Sports. Qualifying for the event takes place one day earlier on Saturday, July 22, at 15:00 BST (16:00 local time). The first two practice sessions take place on Friday, July 21, with the third practice session starting 3.5 hours before qualifying on the Saturday.