Formula 1 drivers

With a field of ten teams, there will be 20 drivers starting the 2021 Formula 1 season. Once every so often, you have a special Silly Season that can shake-up the entire field. That was the case prior to this season. Therefore, there are many changes to be noted.

The 2020 world champion, Lewis Hamilton, was the last driver to sign for 2021. Mercedes being one of the few teams to stick with the same driver duo over the winter. Only Williams and Alfa Romeo can join them on that list as all other teams make at least one change.

Haas, for example, opt for a completely new line-up with Mick Schumacher and Nikita Mazepin. Both drivers are rookies. Sergio Perez will join Max Verstappen at Red Bull Racing in 2021. The Mexican left Racing Point because they selected Sebastian Vettel to race for the team now known as Aston Martin.

At Ferrari, Carlos Sainz sits alongside Charles Leclerc. Daniel Ricciardo makes another surprise move, this time from Renault to McLaren. Fernando Alonso has returned to Renault, who will race under the name Alpine F1 team. AlphaTauri dropped Daniil Kvyat, and in his place, we see Yuki Tsunoda. The first Japanese driver in F1 since 2014.

Read more Read less