F1 Standings

  • Drivers
  • Teams
1Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing0
2Sergio PerezRed Bull Racing0
3Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG F1 team0
4Fernando AlonsoAston Martin F1 team0
5Charles LeclercFerrari0
6Lando NorrisMcLaren0
7Carlos SainzFerrari0
8George RussellMercedes AMG F1 team0
9Oscar PiastriMcLaren0
10Lance StrollAston Martin F1 team0
11Pierre GaslyAlpine F1 team0
12Esteban OconAlpine F1 team0
13Alexander AlbonWilliams0
14Yuki TsunodaVisa Cash App RB0
15Valtteri BottasStake F1 Team0
16Nico HulkenbergHaas F10
17Daniel RicciardoVisa Cash App RB0
18Guanyu ZhouStake F1 Team0
19Kevin MagnussenHaas F10
20Liam LawsonVisa Cash App RB0
21Logan SargeantWilliams0
22Nyck de VriesVisa Cash App RB0
The Formula 1 World Championship Standings determine who will be the Champion at the end of the season. In this sport, there are two different World Championship standings. A Drivers’ Championship and a Constructors’ Championship. They both run hand-in-hand but determine two different winners. One for the drivers, and one for the teams. The Formula One standings have been running since the inception of the World Championship in 1950. The first official World Championship race, with points awarded, took place at Silverstone with the British Grand Prix. In every race since then, points have been awarded in various formats. In modern Formula 1, points are handed out to all finishers inside the top ten. The winner of each race secures 25 points in the World Championship. The driver who finishes a Grand Prix in second-place will earn 18 points. The driver who completes the podium in third-place scores 15 points. The rest of the top ten pick up points. 4th place scores 12 points, and 5th gets 10 points. Each place scores two points less than the previous place, until 10th who scores one point. One bonus point is available for a driver who achieves the fastest lap in the Grand Prix and finishes inside the top ten. In 2021, Formula 1 introduced Sprint Races which help form the grid for qualifying. In his inaugural year, only the top three drivers scored points for this. However, in 2022 the top eight drivers in the sprint race scored points. Eight points go to the winner of the sprint race and therefore the driver starting the Grand Prix from 1st place. Seven points go to second-place, and six points go to third-place. The points are reduced by one until the final point is awarded to eighth-place. For the Constructors’ Championship, the points scored by drivers racing for their Formula 1 team are combined to give a total number for their team. If a team achieves a one-two finish whereby the teammates finish a race 1st and 2nd, the team will score 43 points and this total will be added to the Constructors’ Championship. In Formula 1, the prestige lies in the Drivers’ World Championship, and the money lies in the Constructors’ World Championship. The finishing order of the Constructors’ World Championship also determines how much time each team gets in the Wind Tunnel for the following F1 season.