Grand Prix

Italian Grand Prix

Circuit length
rounds count
fastest lap

Italian Grand Prix

The Italian Grand Prix is one of the most highly anticipated races of the season due to the high speeds and the Ferrari crowd. Along with the British Grand Prix, it is one of only two events to have been on the calendar every year since 1950. Each year, the Tifosi visit the Monza circuit with high expectation of the Ferrari cars. The Italian team have only won one Italian Grand Prix since 2010, though their compatriots AlphaTauri took the victory in 2020.

F1 2023 Italian Grand Prix

The 2023 Italian Grand Prix will be the 14th race of the year, and the final event in Europe until May 2024 for the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix which is also held in Italy. At just under six kilometres, Monza's track is quite long: just one kilometre shorter than Spa-Francorchamps, but even faster. The 5.8 kilometres take just over a minute (Lewis Hamilton secured pole with 1:18.887 in 2020), making the circuit live up to its nickname: The Temple of Speed.

A series of straights and a few tight corners ensure that high speeds are reached here every year and make the Autodromo Nazionale di Monza one of the fastest circuits on the current Formula 1 calendar. 

Where is the Italian F1 Grand Prix held?

The Italian Grand Prix is held at the Autodromo Nazionale di Monza. Monza is located in the north of Italy, and slightly north of Milan. Its close proximity to the major city means it is easy for fans from around Europe to travel to. It is also a reasonable drive from Switzerland, Monaco, Slovenia and even parts of France. The Formula 1 circus has visited Monza most years since 1950 and featured different layouts. In 1955, they introduced the speed ring that was heavily banked. F1 only used this for four races, though it still exists today. 

Italian GP history

The Italian Grand Prix has taken place in Monza on 72 occasions. Giuseppe Farina won the first event for Alfa Romeo, and Alberto Ascari earnt Ferrari’s first win in 1951. Michael Schumacher, who spent his most successful years driving for Ferrari, has won the Italian Grand Prix five times. That is equal to Lewis Hamilton.

Mainly in his fight against Schumacher, Fernando Alonso has won the event twice. Charles Leclerc, Pierre Gasly, Daniel Ricciardo and Max Verstappen are the other drivers on the current grid to have won the Italian Grand Prix. Hamilton is the most successful qualifying driver in the history of the Italian Grand Prix, with seven pole positions. Ferrari are significantly the best-performing team in the Italian GP with 19 wins. McLaren are second with 11 wins.

What time does the 2023 Italian F1 Grand Prix start?

The 2023 Italian Grand Prix starts on Sunday, 3 September 2023, at 15:00 local time (14:00 BST). Qualifying for the Italian GP takes place on Saturday, 2 September 2023, at 16:00 local time (15:00 BST). The first two practice sessions take place on Friday, 1 September 2023 at 13:30 and 17:00 local time, respectively. The third and final practice session takes place at 11:30 BST.