F1 News

Funny moment: Hamilton unaware of this rule after grid penalty

Funny moment: Hamilton unaware of this rule after grid penalty

09-10-2021 15:05
10 Comments

Max Verstappen and Lewis Hamilton found something they agree on during a funny moment in the press conference after qualifying for the Turkish Grand Prix. Lewis Hamilton thought he would add to his pole position statistics but the grid penalty means he doesn't get this reward. The two drivers at the top of the World Championship believe this should be altered. 

Press conference

On Friday, Mercedes confirmed they added a fourth internal combustion engine to Hamilton's car for the Turkish Grand Prix. As a result, pole position wasn't possible for Hamilton in qualifying. The Brit recorded the fastest time, but his teammate Bottas gets credited with the pole position because he moves up. Hamilton, who has 101 pole positions in his career, is confused by this rule. 

Hamilton and Verstappen agreed that they should change the rule. The driver on pole normally gets a mini tyre trophy which Hamilton had already signed. He offered to give it away to Bottas. 

"I am still happy taking the tyre," Bottas jokingly said which Hamilton replied, "you can have it!" 

Video player

More videos