Tsunoda gets lucky with stewards' ruling in Imola

17-04-2021 19:16 | Updated: 17-04-2021 21:54
by GPblog.com
F1 News
Tsunoda gets lucky with stewards' ruling in Imola

Yuki Tsunoda impressed during the Bahrain Grand Prix, but made a big mistake during qualifying today. The stewards have now allowed the Japanese to start the race from the back of the grid.

Those who want to participate in a Grand Prix have to officially set a time in qualifying. Yuki Tsunoda didn't meet those requirements, as he crashed into the wall during his first lap in Q1 of qualifying. He took the wrong line at turn nine, lost control, hit the wall and caused a red flag.

It's a big difference compared to the Bahrain Grand Prix weekend, where the Japanese racer impressed and made some great overtaking attempts during the race. He will need to do that often during the Imola Grand Prix if the rookie wants to leave Italy with points.

Starting from the back in Imola

Following a request from AlphaTauri, the race committee has given Tsunoda permission to start the race despite him not meeting the requirements. The young driver doesn't have to start from the pit lane, but he does have to start from the last position.

F1 TV Banner F1 TV Banner

Video player

More videos

Check out the latest news

You will be logged out and redirected to the homepage