F1 News

F1 2023 | What seats are still available for next season?

F1 2023 | What seats are still available for next season?

02-09-2022 15:15 Last update: 08-10-2022 06:43


Pierre Gasly officially makes the switch to Alpine, while Nyck de Vries replaces the Frenchman at AlphaTauri in 2023. So there are only a few spots left in Formula 1. Find out which seats they are for the 2023 season here. The F1 grid for next year is taking shape. Find out which seats are still available for 2023 here.

De Vries makes full-time F1 debut

The top three in the current constructors' championship standings have had the line-up for 2023 fixed for some time. McLaren is now the fourth team with a confirmed line-up of two drivers with Lando Norris and Piastri. Alpine has Esteban Ocon under contract and had to look for a replacement for Piastri who had already been named as a second driver. The team has since announced that Gasly will form a duo with compatriot Ocon.At AlphaTauri, the gap will be filled by Nyck de Vries.

The 27-year-old will become the second Dutch driver on the grid in 2023. Haas, Aston Martin and Williams have also only confirmed one driver each for 2023. Kevin Magnussen, Fernando Alonso and Alexander Albon already have contracts for 2023. Lance Stroll has not yet been confirmed by Aston Martin, but he will most likely retain his seat as the owner's son.

Mick Schumacher looks set to lose his place at Haas and, with Zhou's contract, also sees his chance at Alfa Romeo disappear. Haas is looking at many names, including Daniel Ricciardo, Nico Hulkenberg and Antonio Giovinazzi. Haas' candidates are also of interest to Williams. Logan Sargeant (Williams junior) and Jack Doohan (Alpine junior) are also mentioned in Silly Season. With De Vries making the move to AlphaTauri, Sargeant's chances of getting a contract at Williams only increase.

Line-up for the 2023 F1 grid

Team Driver 1 Driver 2
Red Bull Racing Verstappen Perez
Ferrari Leclerc Sainz
Mercedes Hamilton Russell
Alpine Ocon Gasly
McLaren Norris Piastri
Alfa Romeo Bottas Zhou
Haas Magnussen TBC
AlphaTauri De Vries Tsunoda
Aston Martin Alonso (Stroll)
Williams Albon TBC