F1 LIVE | Verstappen and Hamilton share the front row for the US GP

24-10-2021 19:30
by GPblog.com
F1 News
F1 LIVE | Verstappen and Hamilton share the front row for the US GP

With the United States Grand Prix, another exciting chapter in the title fight between Max Verstappen and Lewis Hamilton awaits us. Verstappen will start from pole position and will be hoping for some support from Sergio Perez, who will start from third behind Hamilton.

LIVE | United States Grand Prix


After the first free practice session, the advantage seemed to be in Mercedes' favour. But that advantage disappeared on Saturday. Both Red Bull drivers topped the timesheets, while Mercedes dropped back.

In qualifying, however, Hamilton came close to pole position and managed to split the Red Bulls, giving him a front-row start. However, he will miss the help of teammate Valtteri Bottas. The Finn failed to finish fourth in qualifying and is also five places back on the grid due to a combustion engine change.

For Verstappen, a good start will be of the utmost importance. The best possible scenario for Red Bull is that Pérez manages to outsmart Hamilton at the start so that Verstappen can create a gap to his title rival. Pérez could well play a key role in this race, and possibly in the battle for the championship.

Previously in the United States Grand Prix

The United States Grand Prix restarted in the 2012 season after a five-year layoff. The fixture has been on the calendar every season since then, apart from the 2020 edition which was cancelled as a result of COVID-19. When the event returned in 2012, the venue changed. F1 used to visit Indianapolis where the famous Indy500 takes place every year. But in 2012, a deal was struck with the Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas.

Lewis Hamilton has won the United States Grand Prix six times. His first win came in his debut season for McLaren in 2007. Aryton Senna and Michael Schumacher are both tied on five wins each. All of Schumacher's wins came at Indianapolis, whereas all of Senna's wins came at previous venues in Phoenix and Detriot. Most of the United States Grands Prix were held at Watkins Glen International Circuit (15 occasions) but the last F1 race took place there in 1975 when Niki Lauda took home the winners trophy. 

Just four drivers on the current grid have won races in America. Hamilton is joined by Kimi Raikkonen, Sebastian Vettel and Valtteri Bottas. In terms of the constructors, Lotus have won the most times with 10 victories. Ferrari sit second on eight wins.

Video player

More videos

  • Small
  • Big