United States Grand Prix

Circuit of the Americas

First grand prix 1908

Number of laps 56

Race distance 308.405KM

Circuit length 5.513KM

About the United States Grand Prix

The United States Grand Prix is a race on the Formula 1 calendar that is hosted at the Circuit of the Americas around Austin, Texas. After a brief four-year period where there was no F1 race in the States, COTA has hosted it since 2012. Lewis Hamilton has won five of the seven races there. No American driver or constructor has ever won on home soil, although Ford has provided the engine for many winners.

In 2018, however, it was Kimi Raikkonen who took a shock victory for Ferrari. The Finn broke the record for the longest time between two wins, as his last win had come over five years earlier.

Circuit of the Americas Track guide

COTA is 5.5 km (3.4 miles) long and counts 20 corners, the first of which is a hairpin after the home straight. Build speed back up for a quick turn 2. After that, a quick, technical section. Turns 3-5 form a left-right-left ‘S’, followed by the long-winding T6, which ends the first sector.

Drop to fifth on T7, stay on it for another long corner in turn 8, and shift down for the deceiving turn 9, a tight left-hander. A kink to the left and floor it, and slow right back down for another hairpin at turn 11.

DRS will see you reach speeds well North of 200 mp/h, until you reach the next hairpin. The run-up to T13 ends sector two and is the start of the second bendy part of COTA.

T13-14 is a double right-hander followed by a triple left-hander that slows down as it progresses. Turn 16, 17 and 18 are basically one really long oval-shaped left, before getting to the final two corners. Drop to fifth and chuck the car towards the apex for turn 19, and try to get as much exit speed as you can for the slow T20. Activate DRS and you pass start/finish.

Race history

Although many races have been dubbed the United States Grand Prix that weren’t part of Formula 1, the first F1 race was held at Sebring in 1959. None other than Bruce McLaren, who would later found McLaren, took the victory in that year for the Cooper F1 team.

After one year at Riverside in California, the United States Grand Prix found its home at Watkins Glen, where it would stay for exactly 20 GP’s. Many greats like Stirling Moss, Jim Clark, Graham Hill, Jackie Stewart, Emerson Fittipaldi, Niki Lauda and James Hunt have won at the famous track, with American Mario Andretti once putting his car on pole position once but retiring during the race.

After 1980, debts could not be paid and the event had to be scrapped, until it came back in 1989 for three years in Phoenix. All three races there were won by McLaren, with Alain Prost winning one and Ayrton Senna winning two. After 1991, though, the event would disappear from the F1 world championship for another nine years.

Indianapolis became the host in 2000 and would host a total of eight times. Michael Schumacher won five of the eight races for Ferrari, with the 2005 race standing out in particular. Seven teams withdrew from the race as they were running Michelin tyres that had safety issues, leaving only six cars to compete.

After disappearing in 2008 again, a new circuit was built to accommodate the United States GP from 2012 onwards; the Circuit of the Americas. Lewis Hamilton, who is the only driver to win the United States Grand Prix at different tracks, won five out of the seven races at COTA since the F1 has moved there. His total of six wins is more than any other driver - Michael Schumacher comes second with five.

When is the 2019 United States Grand Prix?

The race weekend in Austin kicks off Friday November 1st, with Free Practice 1 starting at 11am local time (4pm BST). FP2 starts that afternoon at 3pm (8pm BST). On Saturday, FP3 starts at 1pm local time (6pm BST), and qualifying for the United States Grand Prix takes place at 4pm on Saturday (9pm BST).

The United States Grand Prix will start at 1.10pm local time on Sunday November 3rd (7.10pm BST).



Session Date Time
Practice 1 1 November 2019 12:00 - 13:30
Practice 2 1 November 2019 16:00 - 17:30
Practice 3 2 November 2019 14:00 - 15:00
Qualifying 2 November 2019 17:00 - 18:00
Race 3 November 2019 14:10 - 16:10
Times are in America/New_York Timezone
Read more Read less Show timetable

United States Grand Prix News

You will be logged out and redirected to the homepage