Teams agree on test bans on new circuits

15-08-2020 11:25 | Updated: 15-08-2020 12:04
Teams agree on test bans on new circuits

The F1 season 2020 looks very different from the original calendar due to the impact of the coronavirus. Because the Grands Prix is mainly held in Europe, a number of new circuits have been added. The FIA and the teams have now agreed that the preparation is as fair as possible.

The teams are committed to spending as much time as possible on the new circuits. Mugello and Portimao are completely new for Formula 1 and at the Nürburgring and Imola was last driven in 2013 and 2006. To ensure that certain teams do not gain an advantage, all testing possibilities on those circuits will be banned, says

Ferrari and AlphaTauri already in action

The teams agreed in an e-vote. Renault, Red Bull Racing and AlphaTauri were said to be ready to leave for Portugal. So with this vote, those plans come to an end. Drivers are still allowed to drive on the tracks, as long as it's not in an F1 car.

Earlier this year, however, two teams have already tested on one of these circuits. Ferrari drove at Mugello and AlphaTauri drove at Imola. However, those circuits were not yet officially confirmed for the 2020 calendar at that time.

Check out the latest news

You will be logged out and redirected to the homepage