Chadwick crowned inaugural W Series champion

11-08-2019 16:04
by Joseph Tyrrell
F1 News
Chadwick crowned inaugural W Series champion

Jamie Chadwick has won the inaugural W Series despite finishing fourth at the final race of the season at Brands Hatch. Alice Powell won the race which was her first victory.

Chadwick was leading the Championship going into the final race of the season with Dutch drive Beitske Visser aiming to close the gap to beat Chadwick to the title. The Brit started on pole for the race but she quickly dropped down to third place after Emma Kimiläinen and eventual race winner Alice Powell overtook her. 

As Visser hunted Chadwick down, she was handed a boost after a safety car came out in the closing stages. It was going to get even more dramatic when Visser took third place from Chadwick. Despite dropping to fourth The Brit was still on course for the title and duly delivered it, finishing fourth, the first time she has finished off the podium in a Championship race this season.

Chadwick beat Visser to the first W Series title by ten points.

Read more about: W Series Williams

Check out the latest news

You will be logged out and redirected to the homepage