Verstappen unstoppable for Pirelli Pole Position Award

28-10-2021 12:10 | Updated: 28-10-2021 13:26
F1 News
Verstappen unstoppable for Pirelli Pole Position Award

There are still five Grands Prix left on the calendar, but it is already clear that Max Verstappen has won the Pirelli Pole Position Award 2021. The award for the driver with the most pole positions in a season is already undeniable for the Dutchman.

Ninth pole position Verstappen

During the United States Grand Prix, Verstappen drove to pole position for the ninth time this season. The Dutchman did this before in Bahrain, France, Styria, Austria, Great Britain, Belgium, the Netherlands and Italy. After Verstappen, Lewis Hamilton has the most pole positions. With three pole positions (Emilia Romagna, Spain and Hungary), the Briton cannot overtake Verstappen this season. This already makes Verstappen the winner of the Pirelli Pole Position Award.

Valtteri Bottas (Portugal and Turkey) and Charles Leclerc (Monaco and Azerbaijan) each took two pole positions. Lando Norris took his first and only pole position of his career in Russia. The Pirelli Pole Position Award has been presented since 2018. Hamilton won the award in 2018 (11 pole positions) and 2020 (10 pole positions). Leclerc won in 2019 (7 pole positions). Theoretically, Verstappen could end up with fourteen pole positions this season.

Video player

More videos

  • Small
  • Big