Grand Prix

Azerbaijan Grand Prix

Circuit length
6.003 km
rounds count
fastest lap

Azerbaijan Grand Prix

The Azerbaijan Grand Prix on the streets of the capital Baku has become a modern classic. It is clear that it is a special circuit. The circuit has character. On one side there's the cunning castle section, where the track is narrower than any other circuit on the F1 calendar and on the other, there's the gigantic long straight where the start/finish line is.

F1 Standings

1Sergio PerezRed Bull Racing511:44.9260
2Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing51+2.1370
3Charles LeclercFerrari51+21.2170
4Fernando AlonsoAston Martin F1 team51+22.0240
5Carlos SainzFerrari51+45.4910
6Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG F1 team51+46.1450
7Lance StrollAston Martin F1 team51+51.6170
8George RussellMercedes AMG F1 team50+73.9930
9Lando NorrisMcLaren50+80.1700
10Yuki TsunodaScuderia AlphaTauri50+83.7610
11Oscar PiastriMcLaren50+86.5620
12Alexander AlbonWilliams50+88.7160
13Kevin MagnussenHaas F150+89.8740
14Pierre GaslyAlpine F1 team50+91.4660
15Esteban OconAlpine F1 team50+97.9870
16Logan SargeantWilliams50+100.6790
17Nico HulkenbergHaas F150+1LAP0
18Valtteri BottasAlfa Romeo F1 team50+1LAP0
19Guanyu ZhouAlfa Romeo F1 team36+15LAPS0
20Nyck de VriesScuderia AlphaTauri9+42LAPS0

The 2023 Azerbaijan Grand Prix

The Baku City Circuit has been on the calendar since 2016, albeit as a Grand Prix of Europe at the time. As of 2017, the race was renamed Azerbaijan GP and has already seen fireworks on the streets of Baku several times. In 2017 the impossible to forget fight between Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel behind the safety car, in 2018 the drama for both Red Bulls.

Since 2020, due to the arrival of the Grand Prix of the Netherlands and then the coronavirus pandemic, this race has been shifted more towards the spring and is held before a visit to Miami and the Monaco Grand Prix.

With more than six kilometres of asphalt, the lap times of the GP of Baku are logically a lot higher than those of the small round through the principality. Charles Leclerc recorded a 1:41.218 pole time in 2021, which means that the drivers are on the road more than half a minute longer than in Monte Carlo. One of the highest top speeds of the year is also measured here. Something that is impossible in Monaco. What is also special is that there is not yet one driver who has won twice on the Baku City Circuit.

What does the Azerbaijan Grand Prix race weekend look like?

On 28th April, the first free practice starts at 10:30 AM UK time. However, the schedule then looks a little different. Formula 1 brings its sprint race weekend format to Baku for the very first time and qualifying will take place on Friday at 14:00 UK time. Practice two then takes place on Saturday 29th April, before the sprint race at 14:30 UK time. The race will then continue as normal on Sunday 30th April at 12:00 UK time. 

What time does the Azerbaijan Grand Prix start?

As in previous years, the GP of Azerbaijan can be followed live in the GPblog live blog from half an hour before the start of the race. The start time of the Baku Grand Prix is ​​12:00 UK time and the race can also be followed live on your chosen TV option.