Toyota wins the Le Mans 24 Hours supremely for the fourth time!!

Toyota wins the Le Mans 24 Hours supremely for the fourth time!!

22-08-2021 15:10 Last update: 17:50

Toyota have won the 24 Hours of Le Mans in supreme fashion. The #7 of Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and Jose Maria Lopez eventually won with a lap advantage over Toyota's #8, with former F1 drivers Sebastien Buemi and Brendon Hartley, together with Kazuki Nakajima. In the LMP2-class Racing Team Nederland obtained a great third place in the PRO/AM-classification.

Action was immediate in the opening stages. Due to rain, the race started behind the Safety Car and when the field was released, the new entry of Glickenhaus Racing immediately hit the #8 Toyota of Buemi, which immediately fell behind. In LMP2, there were no major problems and everyone managed to keep their nose clean in the first stint

LMP2 leader retires in the last lap

Towards the night the gaps in the LMP2 class were very slim, but during the night there where a couple of mistakes which saw the gaps grow. The 98th edition of the 24h of Le Mans saw a lot of retirements during the night, and the most important one came in the closing stages of the race. Team WRT seemed to take a 1-2 in the LMP2-class, but the leading car broke down on the last lap

Robin Frijns seemed to be heading for second place for a long time, but his teammates car broke down and he suddenly found himself leading the LMP2 standings as they entered the final lap. It became close in the final sector and just managed to hold on the lead. 

Full results 24 Hours of Le Mans:

Video player

More videos