Singapore Grand Prix

Marina Bay Street Circuit

First grand prix 2008

Number of laps 61

Race distance 308.706KM

Circuit length 5.063KM

About the Singapore Grand Prix

The Singapore Grand Prix is the second of the night races of the Formula 1 calendar. It’s known for being the toughest race on the calendar for the drivers, as it starts at a late time and is one of the longest races. It’s the 15th race on the current F1 calendar.

It’s been a part of F1 since 2008, when the inaugural race at the Marina Bay Street Circuit was won by then Renault driver Fernando Alonso. Both Sebastian Vettel and Lewis Hamilton have won it four times each, with the latter winning the last two editions.

Hamilton won the 2018 edition after a sensational pole lap, which many described as his best ever.

Marina Bay Track Guide

At over five kilometres long, the Marina Bay Street Circuit is one of the longest circuits on the calendar, with 23 corners making up the circuit.

Coming onto to the home straight with DRS, turn 1 is a deceivingly slow left-hander, quickly followed by a kink to the right. Completing the ‘S’ shape is turn 3, a tight bend to the left where speeds drop well under 100 km/h.

A small straight heads into another deceivingly slow corner, followed by the second DRS zone. The back straight is split up by a kink to the right which ends the DRS zone, followed by a 90-degree left-hander in turn 7.

Three more 90-degree corners follow, with turn 11 and 12 being a quick left-right combination, followed by a run-up to the very slow bend at T13. A long run-up to T14, which is a mirrored T13. Then, a sequence of blind corners, with the ‘S’ followed by a double chicane in the final sector. Finally, a double kink to the left, and you’re back onto the home straight with DRS.

Race history

Although there have only been 11 Singapore Grand Prix, they tend to be quite spectacular. Every single race to date has featured a Safety Car - 18 in total in 11 races!

The first ever race in Singapore was also the first ever night race in Formula 1 history. Alonso won the race in controversial fashion, with teammate Nelson Piquet Jr. allegedly sacrificing his car so Alonso could win.

Alonso won again in 2010 for Ferrari in one of the best F1 races in the modern era. Alonso had a truly magnificent battle with Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel, who threw everything he had at the Spaniard but couldn’t get past, as the two-time champion defended his lead with his life.

Since 2010, Vettel and Hamilton have won 8 of the 9 races, with only Nico Rosberg winning in 2016 to break the streak. Hamilton won the last edition in 2018, despite Ferrari being heavy favourites heading into the weekend.

Max Verstappen had a fantastic overtake on Sebastian Vettel to finish second, with the Dutchman edging ahead of the four-time champion after coming out of the pitlane.

When is the 2019 Singapore Grand Prix?

The race weekend in Singapore kicks off Friday September 20th, with Free Practice 1 starting at 4.30pm local time (2am BST, 9pm EST). FP2 starts that afternoon at 8.30pm (1.30pm BST, 8.30am EST). On Saturday, FP3 starts at 6pm local time (11am BST, 6am EST), and qualifying for the Singapore Grand Prix takes place at 9pm on Saturday (2pm BST, 9am EST).

The Singapore Grand Prix will start at 8.10pm local time on Sunday September 22nd (1.10pm BST, 8.10am EST).

Session Date Time
Practice 1 20 September 2019 04:30 - 06:00
Practice 2 20 September 2019 08:30 - 10:00
Practice 3 21 September 2019 06:00 - 07:00
Qualifying 21 September 2019 09:00 - 10:00
Race 22 September 2019 08:10 - 10:10
Times are in America/New_York Timezone
Read more Read less Show timetable

Singapore Grand Prix News

You will be logged out and redirected to the homepage