These former Formula One drivers will compete in the Indy 500

27-05-2021 16:49 | Updated: 27-05-2021 18:19
F1 News
These former Formula One drivers will compete in the Indy 500

This Sunday the Indianapolis 500, also known as the Indy 500, will take place for the 105th time. At the start of this legendary race, there are also some former Formula1 drivers, including Takuma Sato and Juan Pablo Montoya, who already won the Indy 500 once.

From Formula 1 to IndyCar

The most experienced Formula One driver to start Sunday is Marcus Ericsson. Between 2014 and 2018 Ericsson drove 97 Grands Prix for Caterham, Sauber and Alfa Romeo. He was never really successful in Formula 1, with an eighth-place as his best result, but for the Indy 500, he managed to qualify ninth.

Juan Pablo Montoya is another famous name from Formula 1. Between 2001 and 2006 he drove a total of 95 races for Williams and McLaren. He managed to take seven victories. Colombian is also successful in the Indy 500. In 2000 and 2015 he won the prestigious race. On Sunday, however, he will start in 24th place.

Takuma Sato is the third experienced Formula One driver to start on Sunday. The Japanese driver drove 92 Grands Prix between 2002 and 2008. In 2004 he scored his only podium finish with BAR. Sato also drove for Jordan and Super Aguri. In the IndyCar, he is a lot more successful. He won the Indy 500 in 2017 and 2020. Due to a disappointing qualifying, he will start fifteenth on Sunday.

Winning Formula 1 drivers

Montoya and Sato are not the only Formula 1 drivers who were successful at the Indy 500. Some winners are Jacques Villeneuve (1995), Emerson Fittipaldi (1989 and 1993), Graham Hill (1966), Eddie Cheever (1998), Jim Clark (1965) and Mario Andretti (1969). For the Netherlands, hopes are obviously pinned on Rinus 'Veekay' van Kamthout who will start from third on Sunday.

Dit bericht bekijken op Instagram

Een bericht gedeeld door (@gpblog_com)

Video player

More videos

  • Small
  • Big