Grand Prix

Japanese Grand Prix

Circuit length
rounds count
fastest lap

Japanese Grand Prix

The Japanese Grand Prix is a staple on the Formula 1 calendar, and it’s obvious why fans love the event at Suzuka. Historically, it has been in the latter stages of the season, which has led to it being the venue for 13 World Drivers’ Champion crownings, with Max Verstappen most recently joining the list. But that's not the case in 2024 as it will be the fourth round in the Formula 1 World Championship. Michael Schumacher is the most successful F1 driver at the venue, with six wins.

F1 Japanese Grand Prix 2024

The 2024 Japanese Grand Prix will be just the third race at Suzuka since 2020 due to the COVID-19 outbreak, which forced 2020 and 2021 to be cancelled. This is the first time the race takes place before the European summer, as F1 try to find a more sustainable calendar. It’s a track where varying conditions usually come into play and could cause a wide change in the outcome of the race. In 2022, the torrential rain at Suzuka resulted in a red-flag after Carlos Sainz crashed. This ended up pushing the race past the three-hour time limit, causing some confusion with points awarded, but Max Verstappen ended up claiming full points and the World Drivers’ Championship. In 2023 Max Verstappen won the race with a double McLaren podium. Red Bull scored enough points to mathematically become World Champions.

Where is the Japanese Grand Prix held?

The Japanese Grand Prix is held at the Suzuka Circuit, located in the northern Kii Peninsula, Japan. The circuit has been open for 60 years and is currently visited by F1, FIM EWC, GT World Asia Challenge, Super GT and Japanese Super Formula. It’s one of two Asian nation-hosted races, with Singapore coming one race before the event at Suzuka.

Japanese GP history

The official Japanese Grand Prix has taken place at Suzuka 33 times, with the event also being held at Fuji 4 times. 11 of the 47 total events for the Japanese GP weren't officially part of the F1 World Championship. These events occurred between 1963 and 1976. It has been raced at Suzuka consistently since 2009. 

Michael Schumacher has won at Suzuka six times, with Lewis Hamilton picking up four victories. Hamilton also won the Japanese Grand Prix at Fuji in 2007. Hamilton is the most successful driver at the circuit on the current grid. He and Verstappen are the only drivers on the current grid to win multiple times at Suzuka. Valtteri Bottas and Fernando Alonso are the only other drivers on the current grid to win an F1 race in Japan. 

It’s the same story in qualifying. Schumacher is the most successful driver on a Saturday, with eight pole positions to his name. Sebastian Vettel follows his compatriot with five pole positions, with Hamilton only securing two at Suzuka. McLaren and Ferrari are the most successful teams, with seven wins at Suzuka. McLaren are the most successful at the Japanese Grand Prix because of their two wins in Fuji.