Winning for two different teams? No one has done that in the hybrid era

20-03-2021 12:22 | Updated: 20-03-2021 17:50
F1 News
Winning for two different teams? No one has done that in the hybrid era

The current hybrid era in Formula 1 was introduced in 2014. Since then, Mercedes have been stringing the titles together ever since. Seven times the German constructor won both the Drivers' and Constructors' Championships.

Hamilton's dominance

In the hybrid era a total of ten drivers have won a Grand Prix. The main force has been Lewis Hamilton with a total of 73 victories in the last seven years. Nico Rosberg (20 victories), Sebastian Vettel (14 victories), Max Verstappen (10 victories), Valtteri Bottas (9 victories), Daniel Ricciardo (7 victories) and Charles Leclerc (2 victories) follow at a distance. Finally, Kimi Raikkonen , Sergio Perez and Pierre Gasly also won a race each.

Winning for one team

A striking fact about these statistics is that none of these drivers have won for more than one team in recent years. Hamilton, Rosberg and Bottas have only won races for Mercedes, Verstappen and Ricciardo only for Red Bull Racing, Vettel, Leclerc and Raikkonen only for Ferrari, Gasly for AlphaTauri and Perez for Racing Point.

Breaking the trend

So are there any drivers who can break this trend? Perhaps there are. Sergio Perez, who joins Red Bull Racing in one of the two teams that have won a Grand Prix in every year of the hybrid era, is a likely candidate.

With a bit of luck, Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren) and Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin) are also outsiders for a win. If so, we will probably need another crazy race. The last driver who could theoretically break the trend is Kimi Raikkonen for Alfa Romeo, but then things would have to get really weird.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by (@gpblog_com)

Video player

More videos

  • Small
  • Big