Hamilton and Mercedes again nominated for Laureus Sport Award

24-02-2021 15:19 | Updated: 24-02-2021 18:21
by GPblog.com
Hamilton and Mercedes again nominated for Laureus Sport Award

Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes have again been nominated to receive a Laureus World Sports Award, as the institute announced on their own website. Hamilton has been nominated in the category 'sportsman of the year.'

In this category, Hamilton competes against basketball player Lebron James, tennis player Rafael Nadal and footballer Robert Lewandowski, among others. Last year Hamilton shared the trophy in this category with Lionel Messi, who did not make the list this time. In 2008 Hamilton was awarded the breakthrough of the year award by the same institute. 

Mercedes, the team with which Hamilton has already won seven world titles, has been nominated for the team of the year award. The Silver Arrows won in 2018, and the recent nomination is the sixth in a row for the team led by Toto Wolff. Mercedes' British star has already been nominated for the award seven times.

Celebrating great sportsmen and women

The organisation aims "to celebrate the achievements of sportsmen and women and their impact on society." Hamilton is not the first Formula One driver to be recognised by the Laureus World Sports Awards; Vettel won the prize in 2014 and in both 2002 and 2004 the honour went to Michael Schumacher.

F1 TV Banner F1 TV Banner

Video player

More videos

Check out the latest news

You will be logged out and redirected to the homepage