IndyCar does get almost all their drivers at the start of virtual championship

26-03-2020 15:28 | Updated: 26-03-2020 18:09
by Editorial Team
IndyCar does get almost all their drivers at the start of virtual championship

Formula 1 organized an official virtual Grand Prix of Bahrain last weekend. The intention was that as many current F1 drivers as possible would participate, but in the end only Lando Norris and Nicholas Latifi showed up. IndyCar does not have that lack of star-power.

Due to the low turnout among F1 drivers, the field for the virtual Grand Prix of Bahrain last Sunday had to be filled with veterans, young talents and even a former member of One Direction.

On the other hand, the virtual championship that the IndyCar organises on the iRacing platform can count on a lot more enthusiasm among their drivers. While some veterans such as Scott Dixon, Ryan Hunter-Reay and Takuma Sato are missing, all other drivers in the top 15 of last year's championship will be at the start of the IndyCar iRacing Challenge next Saturday.

Fans choose the circuit

The championship is really meant as a gesture to the fans. They can choose where the first race will take place next Saturday, Watkins Glen or the Michigan Superspeedway. After that there will be one race every weekend for the next six weeks. Below you can see the preliminary start list for the first race next Saturday. Announcements from special guests are expected in the coming days.

Starting list first round IndyCar iRacing Challenge

Team  Driver
Andretti Zach Veach
Andretti Alexander Rossi
Andretti Kyle Kirkwood
Andretti James Hinchcliffe
Andretti-Harding Colton Herta
Andretti-Herta Scott Speed
Carlin Felipe Nasr
Carperter Conor Daly
Coyne Santino Ferrucci
Coyne Alex Palou
Dreyer & Reinbold Sage Karam
Foyt Sebastien Bourdais
Foyt Tony Kanaan
Foyt Dalton Kellett
Ganassi Marcus Ericsson
Ganassi Felix Rosenqvist
Juncos Kyle Kaiser
McLaren Pato O'ward
McLaren Oliver Askew
Meyer Shank Jack Harvey
Penske Josef Newgarden
Penske Scott Mclaughlin
Penske Will Power
Penske Simon Pagenoud
RLL Graham Rahal

Read more about: IndyCar

Check out the latest news

You will be logged out and redirected to the homepage