Breaking News

Perez gets to keep victory despite five-second time penalty

Perez gets to keep victory despite five-second time penalty

2 October - 18:45 Last update: 18:59
19 Comments

GPblog.com

Sergio Perez is definitely the winner of the Singapore Grand Prix. The Mexican received a five-second penalty from race control, but his difference of over seven seconds was enough to retain first place.

Perez had to report to the stewards because the difference between the safety car and him was not 10 car lengths. Race control ruled that something was indeed going on, but deemed a five-second penalty sufficient. That means Perez retains the win.

The race officials also had the option of giving Perez two five-second time penalties, but one of them was sufficient. He also receives a reprimand from the leadership. In addition, Perez gets two penalty points on his license.

Victory for Perez remains

It will matter little to Perez, however, because the driver will keep his victory in Singapore. He remains fully in the race for second place in the world championship. The difference with Charles Leclerc is only two points in favor of the Monegasque.

Video player

More videos