Verstappen joins elite group with ninth win in 2021 F1 season

Verstappen joins elite group with ninth win in 2021 F1 season

10-11-2021 20:46

Max Verstappen has never been as close to a world title in his Formula 1 career as he is in 2021. But on his way to that possible title he will also set many other records and appear in special ranks. He is one of the six drivers to have won nine Grands Prix in one Formula One season.

Verstappen manages to put himself in a special column again. The Dutchman won his ninth Grand Prix of 2021 in Mexico. Only five other drivers have done this before and all but one of them also became champion in that season.

Predecessors of Verstappen

Nigel Mansell was the first driver to do it in 1992, followed by Michael Schumacher in 1995. Schumi would repeat this trick four more times during his time with Ferrari. After that it was just a matter of waiting for Sebastian Vettel who won at least nine races in 2011 and 2013.

Incidentally, this has happened every season since 2013. In fact, Lewis Hamilton managed to achieve at least nine wins every year from 2014 to 2020. Nico Rosberg did the same in 2016, his championship year. This makes Hamilton the only driver to date who failed to become champion with nine wins.

Hamilton could be at the same level

Currently Hamilton himself is on five Grand Prix wins in 2021. 

Dit bericht op Instagram bekijken

Een bericht gedeeld door (@gpblog_com)

Video player

More videos