Australian Grand Prix

Albert Park Street Circuit

First grand prix 1928

Number of laps 58

Race distance 307.574KM

Circuit length 5.303KM

About the Australian Grand Prix

The Australian Grand Prix is the first Grand Prix on the current Formula 1 calendar. It has been a regular on the F1 calendar since 1985, hosted firstly in Adelaide and later in Melbourne.

The country has staged some pivotal races in F1 history, along with some of the sport’s most controversial and exciting moments.

In 1994, it was the scene of Michael Schumacher’s famous crash with Damon Hill, and in 2016 we saw a huge crash between Fernando Alonso and Esteban Gutierrez.

Since the move to Albert Park in Melbourne in 1996, it has held the opening race of the season, apart from 2006 and 2010. This statement also rings true for 2020 and 2021, with races affected by coronavirus. 

The Australian Grand Prix 2021

The Australian Grand Prix is an interesting race. The many curves and the character of a semi-street circuit mean that overtaking is quite a challenge in Daniel Ricciardo's home race. In 2021, the race will take place towards the end of the schedule after it was postponed from its original slot. 

Albert Park Circuit

The Albert Park circuit is a fast and technical track, and the first few corners of the F1 season can often see some accidents, such as Martin Brundle’s back in 1996.

The start-finish straight acts as the first DRS zone, with the straight following the first two turns the second. The run after turns three and four are tight and difficult to master, as shown by Pastor Maldonado’s big crash on the final lap here in 2012, slamming his Williams into the wall whilst trying to catch Fernando Alonso for fifth place.

A few flowing corners follow before the tricky Turn 9, where it is imperative to get a good exit heading into the quick left-right of 10 and 11.

The lap ends with a run of right angled turns that lead back onto the start-finish straight. One of the major criticisms of the track in recent times has been the lack of overtaking. In 2018, there were only five on track overtakes during the entire 58-lap race.

Race history

The second race in Australia was one of the most memorable in Formula One history. It staged the final race of the season and any of Nigel Mansell, Nelson Piquet or Alain Prost went into the weekend with a chance of winning the world championship.

Mansell took pole and lost places at the start but managed to get himself into a position where the title would be his. On lap 63, Mansell’s tyre violently exploded, forcing him out. Prost led home Piquet and took the title, his second of four.

In 1993, we saw the final time either Ayrton Senna or Alain Prost stood on the podium, Senna first in his McLaren and Prost second in his Williams. It was Prost’s final race and Senna was killed early the next season, before he could score a point for Williams, after replacing Prost for 1994.

However, possibly the most famous and controversial moment in Adelaide came in 1994, when Michael Schumacher deliberately swerved into Damon Hill as Hill was passing, forcing them both to retire, handing Schumacher the title, his first of seven.

Plenty of fans felt Hill had been hard done by, calling for Schumacher to be disqualified, but nothing came of it, and the moment will live on as one of the most controversial moves in the history of F1.

Session Date Time
Practice 1 18 November 2021 20:30 - 21:30
Practice 2 19 November 2021 00:00 - 01:00
Practice 3 19 November 2021 22:00 - 23:00
Qualifying 20 November 2021 01:00 - 02:00
Race 21 November 2021 01:00 - 03:00
Times are in America/New_York Timezone
Read more Read less Show timetable

Latest Australian Grand Prix news

You will be logged out and redirected to the homepage