F1 News

Turkish GP Final Grid: Hamilton P11, Bottas on pole, Verstappen just behind

Turkish GP Final Grid: Hamilton P11, Bottas on pole, Verstappen just behind

10-10-2021 12:32 Last update: 12:47


Lewis Hamilton was fastest in qualifying for the Turkish Grand Prix , but a grid penalty means he has to give pole position to teammate Valtteri Bottas . Max Verstappen  will line up next to the Finn on the front row of the grid. Daniel Ricciardo qualified in fifteenth place, but he also gets a grid penalty for an engine change. 

Ricciardo's grid penalty moves the backfield up a place. Antonio Giovinazzi , Kimi Raikkonen , Nikita Mazepin and Carlos Sainz all gain a place at the start.

Ferrari were once again on top of their game on Saturday at Istanbul Park . Charles Leclerc is third on the grid; Carlos Sainz has to close the gap at the back due to an engine change, but he too has shown the speed.

Alpha Tauri also surprised in the qualifying. Pierre Gasly will start from the second row of the grid next to Leclerc, and Yuki Tsunoda is also in good shape in ninth place. Fernando Alonso and Sergio Perez join the third row, followed by Lando Norris and Lance Stroll . The top ten is completed by Sebastian Vettel , who will start tenth alongside Tsunoda.

Final grid GP Turkey 2021

1. Valtteri Bottas

                                              2. Max Verstappen

3. Charles Leclerc

                                              4. Pierre Gasly

5. Fernando Alonso

                                              6. Sergio Perez

7. Lando Norris

                                              8. Lance Stroll

9. Yuki Tsunoda

                                              10. Sebastian Vettel

11. Lewis Hamilton

                                              12.  Esteban Ocon

13. George Russell

                                              14. Mick Schumacher

15.  Nicholas Latifi

                                              16. Antonio Giovinazzi

17. Kimi Raikkonen

                                              18. Nikita Mazepin

19. Carlos Sainz

                                              20. Daniel Ricciardo

Video player

More videos