Miami joins the list | American Formula 1 circuits through the years

Miami joins the list | American Formula 1 circuits through the years

18-04-2021 11:33

Formula 1 has confirmed its latest edition to their schedule with the Miami Grand Prix. It won't be arriving until 2022 but it will join an illustrious list of American Formula 1 circuits. Here's a rundown of all the tracks to host an F1 race in the USA.

Savannah 1908-1911

Savannah hosted the first-ever United States Grand Prix in 1908. Louis Wagner of France won the race before it wasn't held in 1909. David Bruce-Brown won the 1910 and 1911 races.

Milwaukee 1912

Milwaukee was next to host the next US race with Caleb Bragg continuing Fiat's good run, winning 3 of the first four US Grands Prix.

Santa Monica & San Francisco 1914-1916

Mercer won the first Santa Monica race in 1914 with Eddie Pullen behind the wheel. In 1915 Brit, Dario Resta won in San Francisco before Howdy Wilcox and Johnny Aitken won in Santa Monica.

Riverside & Sebring 1958 - 1960

Chuck Daigh won at Riverside in 1958, the final race which was not a part of the Formula 1 World Championship. Stirling Moss won at the same location in 1960.

Watkins Glen 1961 - 1980

The first eight races were all won by Brit's at Watkins Glen. Over the 19 years, Graham Hill, Jackie Stewart, Jim Clark and James Hunt all won on multiple occasions. The final win at Watkins Glen was taken by Alan Jones in a Williams Ford in 1980.

Phoenix 1989 - 1991

Alain Prost of France won the first race at Phoenix before the great Ayrton Senna won back to back races in the first two years of the new decade. A US race woundn't be seen until 2000.

Indianapolis 2000-2007

Indianapolis was the next US circuit to host a Formula 1 race. Michael Schumacher was the only driver to win there more than once, topping the podium on five occasions. Mika Hakkinen, Rubens Barrichello and Lewis Hamilton were the other winners, with the Brit winning on his only F1 appearance there before it was removed from the calendar.

Austin 2012

Lewis Hamilton has been the most succesful driver at Austin winning five of eight races there. Sebastian Vettel won in 2013 but recently it has been the Finn's stomping ground with Kimi Raikkonen and Valtteri Bottas winning in 2018 and 2019 respectively. Due to the coronavirus, there was no 2020 edition.

Video player

More videos