FIA hands out super licence points to the W series

30-01-2020 13:15
by Louis Shaw
F1 News
FIA hands out super licence points to the W series

The W Series, the female Formula Championship, has announced that from the 2020 season super license points can be earned. The champion of the series will get a total of fifteen points that can go on a super license. 

To race in Formula 1 you need 40 super license points within three seasons. The champion of the W Series will receive a total of fifteen, reports. This equals, among other things, the NASCAR Cup, Indy Lights, the Formula Renault Eurocup and the WTCR.

The entire top eight of the W Series can earn points. Places P1 to P8 respectively earn 15-12-10-7-5-3-2-1 points. This means that the points to be earned are still far below Formula 2, Formula 3 and Formula E. In the F2, the champion wins 40 points, who can, therefore, win enough points for an F1 seat in one go. The Formula 3 and Formula E champions both earn 30 points.

Catherine Bond Muir, CEO, is very happy that the FIA ​​has decided to hand out super license points.

"It contributes to the importance of this championship as a feeder competition for female drivers who have the ambition to race in the more established championships," he said. 

David Coulthard is also pleased with the news. 

"The super license points that we can now award to our drivers thanks to the FIA ​​are surely the holy grail for anyone with the ambition to become an F1 driver," he said. 

Check out the latest news

You will be logged out and redirected to the homepage