Formula E Media

F1 News

Wehrlein takes the lead in Formula E standings

Wehrlein takes the lead in Formula E standings

29-01-2023 07:36 Last update: 09:09

Yesterday saw the second E-Prix of the Diriyah double-header weekend. With that, three E-Prixs in total have taken place so far in 2023 and the standings make for interesting reading

Pascal Wehrlein was supreme in Diriyah this weekend. He did not start either race on pole position but managed to take the win in both. In doing so, he knocked Jake Dennis off his throne, who was World Championship leader with his win in Mexico. While Wehrlein came second in Mexico, Dennis did so in both Diriyah E-Prixs. This puts him in second place provisionally in the standings.

Reigning FE champion Stoffel Vandoorne is not doing well. With Mercedes no longer part of the grid, the Belgian has switched to DS Penske, but good results with the American team have so far failed to materialise. In Mexico, Vandoorne managed to get one point, at the first E-Prix in Diriyah zero. At the second race, he was also not in the battle for points and even dropped to P20 due to a time penalty. He is currently fifteenth in the standings.

Because of Pascal Wehrlein and Jake Dennis, Porsche is achieving the greatest success as a manufacturer so far. Wehrlein drives for TAG Heuer Porsche and Dennis for Avalanche Andretti - the latter also being powered by Porsche. Andretti currently takes the crown in the World Championship, also because Andre Lotterer has had better results so far than Porsche driver Antonio Felix da Costa.

Driver standings:

1. Pascal Wehrlein (68 points)
2. Jake Dennis (62 points)
3. Sebastien Buemi (31 points)
4. Sam Bird (28 points)
5. Jake Hughes (27 points)
6. Rene Rast (26 points)
7. Lucas di Grassi (18 points)
8. Andre Lotterer (14 points)
9. Mitch Evans (11 points)
10. Nick Cassidy (10 points)
11. Jean-Eric Vergne (6 points)
12. Antonio Felix da Costa (6 points)
13. Sacha Fenestraz (4 points)
14. Edoardo Mortara (2 points)
15. Stoffel Vandoorne (1 point)
16. Dan Ticktum (1 point)
17. Maximiliam Günther (0 points)
18. Norman Nato (0 points)
19. Oliver Rowland (0 points)
20. Nico Mueller (0 points)
21. Sergio Sette Camara (0 points)
22. Kelvin van der Linde (0 points)
23. Robin Frijns (0 points)

Team standings:

1. Avalanche Andretti (76 points)
2. TAG Heuer Porsche (74 points)
3. NEOM McLaren (53 points)
4. Envision Racing (41 points)
5. Jaguar TCS Racing (39 points)
6. Mahindra Racing (18 points)
7. DS Penske (7 points)
8. Nissan (4 points)
9. Maserati MSG Racing (2 points)
10. Nio 333 Racing (1 point)
11. ABT Cupra (0 points)