Mercedes FE Media

F1 News

The Formula E grid is complete | Mix of new talent and F1 dropouts

The Formula E grid is complete | Mix of new talent and F1 dropouts

29-11-2021 10:00 Last update: 10:52

With the announcement of Stoffel Vandoorne and Nyck de Vries as the drivers for Mercedes, the grid is now officially complete for the new Formula E season. It is again an interesting mix of young promises and proven talents.

New talents in Formula E

Gone are the days when Formula E only had discarded F1 drivers, or drivers who came here to defer their retirement. With big name brands like Mercedes, Jaguar, Nissan and Porsche, Formula E is attracting bigger and bigger names. As a result, the line-up of the eleven teams is becoming increasingly competitive.

De Vries will start the new 2021-2022 season as the reigning world champion. He will once again be competing for Mercedes, where he and Vandoorne hope to prolong their titles. However, there are plenty of competitors out there.

There are many changes among the drivers. Olivier Rowland switched from Nissan to Mahindra, Maximilian Gunther left Andretti for Nissan and former FE-champion Lucas di Grassi will drive for Venturi this year. Two talented drivers also disappeared with René Rast and Alex Lynn and Tom Blomqvist will not be back in Formula E.

In his place however, are some impressive names recruited. Antonio Giovinazzi, for example, is moving from F1 to FE and will drive for Penske. Oliver Askew, who beat Rinus van Kalmthout in the 2019 Indy Light, will be in action for Andretti. The final new driver is Dan Ticktum. A particularly fast driver, but one with a side note that Red Bull and Williams can relate to. Ticktum will drive for the Chinese NIO in 2021-2022.

The grid for the 2021-2022 Formula E season

NIO: Olivier Turvey & Dan Ticktum

Envision: Robin Frijns & Nick Cassidy

Mercedes: Nyck de Vries & Stoffel Vandoorne

Dragon/Penske: Sergio Sette Camara & Antonio Giovinazzi

Jaguar: Mitch Evans & Sam Bird

Venturi: Lucas di Grassi & Edoardo Mortara

DS Techeetah: Antonio Felix da Costa & Jean-Eric Vergne

Nissan: Maximilian Gunther & Sebastien Buemi

Andretti: Jake Dennis & Oliver Askew

Mahindra: Alexander Sims & Oliver Rowland

Porsche: Andre Lotterer & Pascal Wehrlein

Video player

More videos