After the second free practice, George Russell was summoned to the stewards. Now that decision is in. Russell was
summoned to the stewards for an "Alleged breach of Article 12.2.1i of the International Sporting Code and noncompliance with Race Director’s Event Note (item 17.3, document 04) – Escape Road Instructions T14."
Russell receives a warning
After less than two hours, the stewards have reached their decision. They have given Russell a warning.
The FIA document states:
"The Stewards heard from the driver of Car 63 (George Russell), team representative and reviewed video and in-car video evidence. The driver of Car 63 explained that he had just pitted for new tyres and at turn 13, he lost the rear of the car and had no alternative but to leave the track to the left of the orange kerb on the inside of turn 14. He said that he was focused on keeping the car off the wall and cut the orange line on the exit of turn 14. He said that he immediately realised that in so doing he had not complied with the instruction and apologised. No other cars were affected, and the rejoining was not unsafe."
"In the circumstances, we determined that a Warning was appropriate, consistent with earlier decisions for similar infringements in free practice at this circuit. Competitors are reminded that they have the right to appeal certain decisions of the Stewards, in accordance with Article 15 of the FIA International Sporting Code and Chapter 4 of the FIA Judicial and Disciplinary Rules, within the applicable time limits. Decisions of the Stewards are taken independently of the FIA and are based solely on the relevant regulations, guidelines and evidence presented."