The confirmed starting grid for the 2019 Austrian Grand Prix

30-06-2019 12:49 | Updated: 30-06-2019 13:24
by Nicolás Quarles van Ufford
The confirmed starting grid for the 2019 Austrian Grand Prix

With the Austrian Grand Prix starting in just over an hour, here is the full starting grid, with all six of the drivers with grid penalties taken into account! 

Qualifying recap

Before qualifying had even started, a lot of grid penalties had already been dished out. 

Carlos Sainz Jr. and Alexander Albon had both fitted new power units in their respective cars, resulting in a penalty that sees them start from the back of the grid. 

Kevin Magnussen provided his Haas with a new gearbox, dropping him five places from where ever he qualified. Nico Hülkenberg of Renault had the same penalty, although his was for swapping engines.

In qualifying itself, Q1 didn't have many surprises. Both Williams cars struggled, while Racing Point couldn't get either car out of the elimination zone either. Lastly, it was Daniil Kvyat who went out, although he was frustrated as his second flying lap was interrupted by a very slow George Russell, who made the Russian take evasive action in the run-up to T10.

Q1 also saw Lewis Hamilton blocking off Kimi Raikkonen during a hot lap, something which caused the Brit to receive a three-place grid penalty.

In Q3, Sebastian Vettel couldn't run because of a broken engine, meaning he'll have to start among the midfield cars. At the top, it was his teammate Charles Leclerc who took the spoils as the 21-year-old broke the track record as he won his second career pole position. With Hamilton's penalty, Max Verstappen will now line up in second on the grid, with the second starting row being manned by both Mercedes cars.

Wonder how the six grid penalties impact the starting grid? Here it is in full!

Austrian Grand Prix 2019 starting grid

1. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)   
  2. Max Verstappen (Red Bull Racing) 
3. Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)   
  4. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)*
5. Lando Norris (McLaren)  
  6. Kimi Raikkonen (Alfa Romeo Racing) 
7. Antonio Giovinazzi (Alfa Romeo Racing)   
  8. Pierre Gasly (Red Bull Racing)
9. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)  
  10. Kevin Magnussen (Haas F1)**
11. Romain Grosjean (Haas F1)  
  12. Daniel Ricciardo (Renault)
13. Sergio Pérez (Racing Point)  
  14. Lance Stroll (Racing Point)
15. Nico Hülkenberg (Renault)***  
  16. Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso)
17. Robert Kubica (Williams)  
  18. Alexander Albon (Toro Rosso) ****
19. Carlos Sainz Jr. (McLaren) *****  
  PIT. George Russell (Williams)******

* Lewis Hamilton drops from P2 to P5 because of a three-place grid penalty for impeding Kimi Raikkonen in Q1, but moves up to P4 because of Magnussen's penalty.

** Kevin Magnussen drops from P5 to P10 because of a new gearbox.

*** Nico Hülkenberg drops from P12 to P15 because of a new engine.

**** Alexander Albon drops from P13 to P18 because of a new power unit.

***** Carlos Sainz Jr. drops from P15 to P19 because of a new power unit.

****** George Russell starts from the pitlane for changing the front wing spec under parc fermé.

Follow GPblog now on TwitterYouTube, and Facebook!

Check out the latest news

You will be logged out and redirected to the homepage