Overview: When do F1 drivers' contracts expire?

Overview: When do F1 drivers' contracts expire?

15 May - 10:15

Ludo van Denderen

It is a rarity: in 2024, the exact same drivers with the same team will be at the start of the first Grand Prix as were at Abu Dhabi in '23. Chances are that for the 2025 season, though, the necessary drivers will change teams. An overview of Formula 1 drivers' contracts.

At the end of the 2024 season, many contracts expire. The most prominent seat to become vacant is at Red Bull Racing. There, Sergio Perez's commitment expires. One seat seemed likely to become available at Aston Martin, but Fernando Alonso signed a deal in April to stay for 2025. The team never makes announcements about Lance Stroll's contracts, but the Canadian is expected to stay.

Until when does Max Verstappen's contract run?

Max Verstappen is still with Red Bull Racing for years to come. The triple world champion has a commitment with the Austrian team until the end of 2028. Verstappen has said on several occasions that it is not certain he will sign a new contract with a Formula 1 team for 2029 and beyond. The Dutchman would also like to compete in long-distance racing, such as the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Until when does Lewis Hamilton's contract run?

Lewis Hamilton has a contract with Mercedes until the end of 2024. The Briton signed a new commitment in 2023, which was initially a two-year deal. However, the Brit activated a release clause and will move to Ferrari in 2025.

Formula 1 drivers' contracts

Name Team Contract until end:
Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing 2028
Sergio Perez Red Bull Racing 2024
Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 2024
George Russell Mercedes 2025
Charles Leclerc Ferrari Beyond 2024
Carlos Sainz Ferrari 2024
Lando Norris McLaren Beyond 2025
Oscar Piastri McLaren 2026
Fernando Alonso Aston Martin 2026
Lance Stroll Aston Martin Unknown
Pierre Gasly Alpine 2024
Esteban Ocon Alpine 2024
Alexander Albon Williams Beyond 2025
Logan Sargeant Williams 2024
Yuki Tsunoda Visa Cash App RB 2024
Daniel Ricciardo Visa Cash App RB 2024
Valtteri Bottas Stake F1 Team 2025
Guanyu Zhou Stake F1 Team 2024
Nico Hulkenberg Haas 2024
Kevin Magnussen Haas 2024