Grand Prix

Belgian Grand Prix

Circuit length
7.004 km
rounds count
fastest lap

Formula 1 Belgian Grand Prix

The Belgian Grand Prix is a classic race on the Formula 1 schedule. It is one of the most loved circuits, by both fans and drivers. Formula 1 usually marks its return from the summer break with this race. And that's no different in 2022. 

F1 Standings

1VERMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing44--
2PERSergio PerezRed Bull Racing44+17.841-
3SAICarlos SainzFerrari44+26.886-
4RUSGeorge RussellMercedes AMG F1 team44+29.140-
5ALOFernando AlonsoAlpine F1 team44+1:13.256-
6LECCharles LeclercFerrari44+1:14.936-
7OCOEsteban OconAlpine F1 team44+1:15.640-
8VETSebastian VettelAston Martin F1 team44+1:18.107-
9GASPierre GaslyScuderia AlphaTauri44+1:32.181-
10ALBAlexander AlbonWilliams44+1:41.900-
11STRLance StrollAston Martin F1 team44+1:43.078-
12NORLando NorrisMcLaren44+1:44.739-
13TSUYuki TsunodaScuderia AlphaTauri44+1:45.217-
14ZHOGuanyu ZhouAlfa Romeo F1 team44+1:46.252-
15RICDaniel RicciardoMcLaren44+1:47.163-
16MAGKevin MagnussenHaas F143+1LAP-
17SCHMick SchumacherHaas F143+1LAP-
18LATNicholas LatifiWilliams43+1LAP-
19BOTValtteri BottasAlfa Romeo F1 team2DNF-
20HAMLewis HamiltonMercedes AMG F1 team1DNF-

The 2022 Belgian Grand Prix

With more than seven kilometres of asphalt, a lap on perhaps the most beautiful circuit in the world is also the longest on the calendar. Sebastian Vettel's 1:46.409 from 2019 does indicate that there cannot be too many laps to cram the GP into two hours.

44 laps are still squeezed out and each lap has enough technical parts to be really exciting each time. Add to this the unpredictable weather in the Ardennes and you will understand why the race is one big party for fans.

Only two DRS zones are present on the circuit, but that does not mean that a high top speed is not a goal. In fact, it is on this track that several teams will attempt to run the race with the same wing that is also on the car in Italy.

Finding the perfect balance between grip and speed pushes drivers to the limit. Should a cloud suddenly appear from behind the hills, then you know one thing for sure: Qualifying and the race will be thrilling!

What does the race weekend of the Belgian Grand Prix look like?

On August 26, the drivers will take their seats in their cars for the free practice sessions. FP1 is scheduled for 1pm UK time. The second practice session will be held at 16:00 pm. Qualifying starts on Saturday, August 27 at 3:00 PM, after which the race will be held on Sunday, August 28.

What time does the Belgian Grand Prix start?

As in previous years, the GP of Belgium can be followed live in the live blog from one hour before the start of the race. The start time of the Belgian Grand Prix is ​​2:00 PM UK time and the race can also be followed live on your local TV option.