Chinese Grand Prix

Shanghai International Circuit

First grand prix 2004

Number of laps 56

Race distance 305.066KM

Circuit length 5.451KM

About the Chinese Grand Prix

The Chinese Grand Prix is a round in the Formula 1 World Championship. It is held at the Shanghai International Circuit, which is located in Jiading, Shanghai. The track was completed in 2004, and at the time, was the most expensive facility on the F1 calendar – costing an estimated $240 million.

The circuit is 5.451 km long and features some very difficult corners; especially the opening two turns. As it stands, the Grand Prix is to stay on the F1 calendar until at least 2020. Daniel Ricciardo won the 2018 Chinese Grand Prix in spectacular fashion, the first of his two wins in the season.


Shanghai International Circuit Track guide

The first two turns at the Shanghai International Circuit, a very long right-hander that gets tight at the end, is one of the most difficult corners in F1. T2 leads into turn 3 and 4, left-handers where exit speed is crucial heading onto a short straight.

After a slow T6, a high-speed left-right chicane follows, immediately followed up by a slow double left-hander. After another chicane in turn 11 and 12, another snail-like right-hander follows. The long-winding corner ends on the back-straight, one of the longest in F1 at over a kilometre in length.

At the end, F1 cars need to throw out the anchors for a hairpin, a prime spot for lock-ups and overtakes. The final corner, T16, is a 90-degree left-hander onto the main straight, where DRS is available.

Race history

Back in the early 1990s, the government of China planned for the circuit to be placed in Zhuhai, in the south of China. The track was built and then in 1999, the race was added to the F1 World Championship. However, the track failed to meet certain FIA standards. But the Chinese government carried on planning and building and eventually the Shanghai International Circuit was created and they hosted the first ever Formula 1 race in the Asian country in 2004.

That first ever race was won by Scuderia Ferrari and former driver Rubens Barrichello. But the next year, it hosted one of the most iconic races in F1’s recent history. With Ferrari’s dominance in the early 2000s, it was down to Fernando Alonso of Renault F1 team to end the Italians’ success. The Chinese Grand Prix was the last round of the F1 calendar in 2005. The next season (2006) was Michael Schumacher’s last ever race victory in Formula 1.

Rumours over the future of the Chinese Grand Prix began to circulate in 2008, and after a few years of speculation, the matter was finally put to bed by former F1 owner Bernie Ecclestone, saying: “We are not dropping anything. (It’s) 20 races – getting ready for 25.”

In February 2011, it was announced that the grand prix would be getting an extension, following years of uncertainty.

In recent seasons, the race, just like the whole of F1, has been dominated by Mercedes. Nico Rosberg was victorious for the Silver Arrows back in 2012, before Alonso won it for Ferrari the following season. But then four seasons in a row, Mercedes claimed the victory – with Rosberg winning in 2016, and Lewis Hamilton the three other occasions.


When is the 2019 Chinese Grand Prix?

The race weekend in Shanghai kicks off Friday April 12th, with Free Practice 1 starting at 10am local time (3am BST, 10pm EST). FP2 starts that afternoon at 2pm (7am BST, 2am EST). On Saturday, FP3 starts at 11am local time (4am BST, 11pm EST), and qualifying for the Chinese Grand Prix takes place at 2pm on Saturday (7am BST, 2am EST).

The Chinese Grand Prix will start at 2.10pm local time on Sunday June 30th (7.10am BST, 2.10am EST). 

Session Date Time
Practice 1 11 April 2019 22:00 - 23:30
Practice 2 12 April 2019 02:00 - 03:30
Practice 3 12 April 2019 23:00 - 00:00
Qualifying 13 April 2019 02:00 - 03:00
Race 14 April 2019 02:10 - 04:10
Times are in America/New_York Timezone
Read more Read less Show timetable

Chinese Grand Prix News

You will be logged out and redirected to the homepage