Red Bull Racing

Max Verstappen Alexander Albon

Red Bull Racing is a Formula 1 team with Max Verstappen and Pierre Gasly currently driving for them. Between 2010-2013, Red Bull was the best team on the grid, picking up four consecutive constructors’ championships and four consecutive drivers’ championships in the hands of Sebastian Vettel.

Christian Horner is their team principal and has been ever since their introduction in 2005. Former drivers include David Coulthard, Mark Webber, Vettel and Daniel Ricciardo. Red Bull have a little brother team called Scuderia Toro Rosso, and they both currently use a Honda engine. 

Team NameRed Bull Racing
BaseMilton Keynes, Great-Britain
Team LeaderChristian Horner
Technical LeaderAdrian Newey

Red Bull’s bright beginning

Red Bull, the energy drinks company, brought Jaguar F1 team at the end of the season and had continued access to the Cosworth engine developed for the 2005 chassis. David Coulthard,  Christian Klien and Vitantonio Liuzzi were involved in the original driver line-up. A sixth-place finish following in their first year as a constructor, an improvement on their predecessors.

The 2006 season began with an announcement that Red Bull Racing was to use Ferrari engines and that Adrian Newey had signed a deal to be part of the development team. Red Bull was already showing positive signs achieving their first podium at the Monaco Grand Prix in 2006.

Mark Webber was signed in 2007 and the RB3 saw Adrian Newey’s first input on a Red Bull car as well as getting an engine from Renault. A fifth-place finish in the constructors' championship followed, before a dip to seventh in 2008.

By 2009, Coulthard had retired, and the up and coming Vettel replaced him. Red Bull sent shockwaves through the F1 paddock and eventually finished second in the constructors' championship. The Chinese Grand Prix of that year marked Red Bull’s first pole and race win with Vettel providing the trophy.

The golden years of Red Bull Racing

Red Bull, along with Sebastian Vettel, started to dominate the Formula 1 world. Vettel won five races across the course of the season and eventually scored four more points than Fernando Alonso to become the youngest world champion.

In 2011, Vettel won 11 races and completely thrashed the rest of the field, winning the world championship by over 100 points. Alonso once again got close the following year, but it was Vettel who came away with his third title. 2013 fell straight into the hands of Red Bull as they continued to perform at the top of their game. Horner spoke to Vettel on the radio upon his fourth world championship win and said: “We have to remember these days.”

During this time (2010-2013), Webber had also been in contention to win world championships. He finished third three times as he scored enough points to crown Red Bull with four constructors’ titles.

Red Bull: Recent struggles

Daniel Ricciardo arrived at Red Bull in winter 2014, again getting promoted in a similar style to Sebastian Vettel a few years prior. A change of engine era for Formula 1 hampered Red Bull’s performance in the years coming.

Though in 2014, they were still within distance of winning the constructors’ championship until the halfway stage when Mercedes ran away with the title. Since then, Red Bull has finished second just once more, with 2017 and 2018 resulting in a third-place finish behind Ferrari and Mercedes.

For the 2019 season, Red Bull has decided to select Honda as their engine suppliers, ending a 12-year partnership with Renault. Honda raced with Toro Rosso during 2018 as they tested upgrades ahead of a big 2019 season. Helmut Marko, a key adviser at Red Bull, hopes to make Max Verstappen the youngest champion ever in either 2019 or 2020. 

Read more Read less

Red Bull Racing News

You will be logged out and redirected to the homepage