Carlos Sainz Lando Norris

McLaren F1

McLaren is a Formula 1 team which has Lando Norris and Carlos Sainz Jnr as drivers. They have the second highest number of race wins in Formula 1 with 182 race wins in total. The team has won 12 drivers championships and 8 constructors titles.

However, recently the team has failed to perform at this level with their most recent driver's title coming in 2008 when Lewis Hamilton was with the team. Zak Brown is the current CEO of the team with Pat Fry in charge of Engineering and Andrea Stella Director of performance.

Team NameMcLaren
BaseWoking, Great-Britain
Team LeaderAndreas Seidl
Technical LeaderPat Fry

History of McLaren in F1

Named after New Zealander founder Bruce McLaren in 1966 the team has been an ever present force in Formula 1 ever since and has had a successful number of drivers race for them.

McLaren made their Formula 1 debut in 1966 at the Monaco Grand Prix and of the current teams, they are the second oldest, with only Ferrari being older.

Their first World Championship success came in 1974 when Brazilian Emerson Fittipaldi won the Drivers Championship. In 1981 the team merged with Ron Dennis’ ‘Project Four Racing’ and this kickstarted the teams most successful era. With Porsche and Honda engines, Niki Lauda, Alain Prost and Ayrton Senna between them won seven drivers championships and six constructors titles.

In 2009 Ron Dennis left the team and soon after Martin Whitmarsh took over as team principal. The teams performance started to fall and by 2013 Whitmarsh was no longer in charge of the team.

From 2015 McLaren decided to stop using the Mercedes engine and instead turn to Honda. Performance did not suddenly improve meaning that the team switched engine suppliers again to Renault who they have a contract with until 2020.

Who is driving for McLaren?

Recently McLaren have struggled in Formula 1. In 2017 the team decided to split with Honda and turned to Renault to supply their engines instead. The retirement of Formula 1 veteran Fernando Alonso has meant that Carlos Sainz and Lando Norris will be driving for the Woking based team in 2019.

In 2018 the team finished 6th in the constructors championship and they have looked to rebuild a team capable of performing at the top for 2019.  

Lando Norris is a young British driver who is set to have an exciting future ahead of him. Having been a part of the McLaren junior set up he has worked his way up the ranks and has impressed many so far. Following in the footsteps of Lewis Hamilton, who was the last McLaren junior to make it to the top Norris has an exciting future ahead of him.

Carlos Sainz joined from Renault and will hope that he can help the team progress from being a midfield team to being back at the top where they once were.

McLaren involvement outside F1

Fernando Alonso is an ambassador for the team and will still be involved with testing the F1 car for the team. McLaren are also helping him in his quest to complete the triple crown as they are providing him with a car to drive.

McLaren have a rich history in Formula 1 having entered over 800 Formula 1 races and will hope that they can continue to add to their trophy collection in years to come.  

Read more Read less

McLaren News

You will be logged out and redirected to the homepage