Racing Point

Sergio Perez Lance Stroll

Racing Point

Racing Point Formula 1 team are a Formula 1 constructor with Sergio Perez and Lance Stroll currently driving for them. The team, based in Silverstone, has gone through many changes over recent years. They’re currently owned by Lawrence Stroll, father of racing driver Lance Stroll after he took the team out of administration in the summer of 2018.

2019 is their first Formula 1 season under the name of Racing Point after switching from Racing Point Force India. Before administration, the team were known as Sahara Force India.

Team NameRacing Point
BaseSilverstone, Great-Britain
Team LeaderOtmar Szafnauer
Technical LeaderAndrew Green

All change, all change.

The team was first known as Jordan, founded by Eddie Jordan in 1991. The likes of Michael Schumacher, Ralf Schumacher, Rubens Barrichello, Eddie Irvine, Damon Hill and Martin Brundle amongst others competed in their famous bright yellow car.

After 250 Grands Prix, four race wins and 19 podiums, the team was brought by the Midland Group and was then known as Midland F1 racing. This name lasted for just one season, starting out at the 2006 Bahrain Grand Prix, and concluding proceedings at the 2006 Brazilian Grand Prix. Spyker Cars then brought Midland F1 and then renamed the team to Spyker F1. A name which picked up just one Formula 1 championship point after 17 races.

The Force India era

The team then found some consistency when a consortium led by Indian businessman Vijay Mallya and Michiel Mol brought the team. Their first Formula 1 season, in 2008, was in the hands of Adrian Sutil and Giancarlo Fisichella.

Force India had a quiet first year but found their feet in 2009 when Fisichella put the car on pole for the 2009 Belgian Grand Prix. He went on to finish second in the race, behind only Kimi Raikkonen’s Ferrari. Fisichella’s time came to an abrupt end as he was needed at Ferrari. The reserve driver at the time, Vitantonio Liuzzi, came in as the replacement. Force India finished 9th at the end of 2009 in the Formula 1 constructors championship.

Improvements being made

Following the turn of the decade, results improved and the team started to climb the ladder. Adrian Sutil and Vitantonio Liuzzi pulled together a combined 68 world championship points to lift the team into 7th place.

British driver Paul di Resta took over from Liuzzi for the 2011 and remained in the garage for the following three seasons, but went through a change of drivers. Sutil was absent for one season while Nico Hulkenberg took centre stage. Hulkenberg was left out in favour of Sutil in 2013, but the German made a return the following year, only to see Paul di Resta replaced by Sergio Perez in 2014.

By this time, Force India had firmly established themselves as a mid-table team before further updates and funding lifted them to 5th in 2015.

Nailing best of the rest

As Mercedes started their dominance at the top of the pile, the best of the rest position behind Ferrari and Red Bull seemed tastier for all involved. Perez and Hulkenberg went on to have a fantastic season in 2016 as they picked up enough points for a fourth-place finish in the constructors' championship.

Despite Nico Hulkenberg leaving the team the following winter, Mercedes junior driver Esteban Ocon moved in and the team managed to retain their position in the constructors' championship.

Racing Point: Tough times, bright future

But during the 2018 season, Force India hit turbulence. Despite being ‘the best of the rest’ on the grid, the team went under. During the Hungarian Grand Prix, long-standing driver Sergio Perez took his team into administration and legal action took place.

A consortium led by Lawerence Stroll dug the team out of trouble during the summer break. The team now have the funding to provide the car with updates as they move forward under their new name, Racing Point.

Read more Read less

Racing Point News

You will be logged out and redirected to the homepage