F1 News

Stewards rule on Stroll and Hamilton incident FP3 Spain

Stewards confirmed verdict on FP3 incident between Stroll and Hamilton

22 June at 14:59
  • Nicole Mulder

Lance Stroll has got away scot-free after an incident with Lewis Hamilton that occurred during the third free practice session for the Spanish Grand Prix. However, the Aston Martin driver did receive a reprimand for his action.

Stroll gets away with reprimand after Hamilton incident

Towards the end of the third free practice session at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, a strange incident occurred between Stroll and Hamilton. The latter blocked the Aston Martin driver and apologised for it, but the Canadian was not satisfied with that. He drove, at a low pace admittedly, into Hamilton's sidepod.

Once to the stewards, Stroll admitted that he wanted to "express his displeasure" towards Hamilton by driving next to him. The stewards reviewed footage of the incident and ruled that Stroll's driving style was unpredictable but not dangerous. Therefore, he will only receive a reprimand.