Wehrlein takes pole for ePrix Mexico

Wehrlein takes pole for ePrix Mexico

12 February - 18:54 Last update: 23:47

Pascal Wehrlein took pole position on behalf of Porsche at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriquez.

First part qualifying

In Formula E, qualifying is done in two groups for the first time this season, after which the pole position is eventually given away via a knockout system. The fastest four drivers from the first session and the four fastest drivers from the second session participate in this.

In the first session, Andre Lotterer, Edoardo Mortara, Jean-Eric Vergne and Stoffel Vandoorne set the fastest times. In session two, De Vries and Frijns came into action. Both Dutchmen were just fast enough to pass, just like Antonio Felix da Costa and Pascal Wehrlein.


The quarter finals then look as follows:

- Lotterer vs. De Vries
- Frijns vs. Mortara
- Vergne vs. Felix da Costa
- Vandoorne vs. Wehrlein

De Vries didn't make it and was slower than Lotterer. Next, Frijns entered the track, but he too lapsed. Vergne won from teammate Felix da Costa by taking eleven thousandths less time over his lap. Stoffel Vandoorne, teammate of De Vries, also does not advance to the semi-finals. He is trumped after a mistake in the first sector by compatriot Wehrlein.

Semi-finals and Final

Mortara will face Lotterer, while Vergne will duel with Wehrlein. Mortara and Wehrlein succeed and advance to the grand final. In it, Wehrlein is the big man with a 1:07.100. The former Formula 1 driver also gets three points for the world championship thanks to capturing the pole position.

Video player

More videos