Grand Prix

Canadian Grand Prix

Circuit length
4.361 km
rounds count
fastest lap

Canadian GP

Unlike previous years, the Canadian Grand Prix will not be the first, but the second race on the American continent. This is of course due to the arrival of the Miami Grand Prix, which was held in May. Just one week after the race in Azerbaijan, the Canadian GP will be held, forcing the teams and drivers to cover a large distance in record time to arrive in time for the first free practice session.

F1 Standings

1VERMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing701:15.916-
2SAICarlos SainzFerrari70+0.993-
3HAMLewis HamiltonMercedes AMG F1 team70+7.006-
4RUSGeorge RussellMercedes AMG F1 team70+12.313-
5LECCharles LeclercFerrari70+15.168-
6OCOEsteban OconAlpine F1 team70+23.890-
7BOTValtteri BottasAlfa Romeo F1 team70+25.247-
8ZHOGuanyu ZhouAlfa Romeo F1 team70+26.952-
9ALOFernando AlonsoAlpine F1 team70+29.945-
10STRLance StrollAston Martin F1 team70+38.222-
11RICDaniel RicciardoMcLaren70+43.047-
12VETSebastian VettelAston Martin F1 team70+44.245-
13ALBAlex AlbonWilliams70+44.893-
14GASPierre GaslyScuderia AlphaTauri70+45.183-
15NORLando NorrisMcLaren70+52.145-
16LATNicholas LatifiWilliams70+59.978-
17MAGKevin MagnussenHaas F170+68.180-
18PERSergio PerezRed Bull Racing7DNF-
19TSUYuki TsunodaScuderia AlphaTauri47DNF-
20SCHMick SchumacherHaas F118DNF-

The Canadian Grand Prix 2022

The Gilles Villeneuve circuit is one of the faster circuits on the Formula 1 calendar. Three straights with DRS prove that. That doesn't mean the drivers just need to step on the accelerator pedal to complete a lap, though: Slow corners and technical sections that drivers need to pay close attention to can also be found on the track. And because it's a semi-street circuit, the walls are always close.

Right at the start it gets exciting in the tight corners combination 1-2. In the past, we have already seen the necessary heaps of rubble in this chicane. If that wasn't enough, just before the long straight, the hairpin will see some action, leading of course to a thrilling point at Turn Fourteen: The famed Wall of Champions.

What does the Canadian Grand Prix race weekend look like?

The first press conferences are scheduled for June 17, later in the day the drivers will take their seats in their cars for the free practice sessions. FP1 is scheduled for 17 June at 19:00 [UK time], later at 22:00 the second practice session will take place. Qualifying starts on Saturday, June 18 at 21:00, the race on Sunday, June 19 will also be held in the evening.

What time does the Canadian Grand Prix start at the Gilles-Villeneuve circuit?

As in previous years, the Canadian GP can be followed live in the live blog from half an hour before the start of the race. The start time of the Canadian Grand Prix is ​​19:00 UK time and the race can also be followed live on the Sky Sports sports channel from that time. The first two free practice sessions can also be followed on your local TV option.

[time overview in schedule]