IndyCar Series

The IndyCar Series is sometimes called the American counterpart of Formula 1. Although both classes race with Formula cars, there are few other similarities. IndyCar originated from the CART IndyCar World Series in 1996. From that moment on, America had two Formula car championships of approximately the same level, CART and the IndyCar Series. Since the championship began, the Indianapolis 500 has been the main event of the year. The calendar of the Indy Racing League, as it was called through 2007, consisted mainly of oval circuits. CART, which would later be called Champ Car, only ran on street circuits and road courses.
After years of having two separate championships, the IRL and Champ Car merged in 2008. From that season on, the championship was renamed IndyCar Series. the calendar consisted of oval circuits, street circuits and road courses spread across the United States with a single trip to Canada, Brazil, Australia or Japan. Today there are only four ovals on the calendar and the street circuits and usual (Grand Prix) circuits are becoming increasingly popular.

Record champion is New Zealander Scott Dixon with a total of six championships since his debut in 2003. In second place is the Briton Dario Franchitti with a total of four championships. The American with the most titles is Sam Hornish Junior, he scored three titles. The 2021 champion is Alex Palou. IndyCar's largest teams are Andretti Autosport, Chip Ganassi Racing and Team Penske. Incidentally, almost all teams are based in or near Indianapolis.

In addition to young drivers who follow American route from U.S. F2000, Indy Pro 2000 and Indy Lights have climbed towards the IndyCar Series, many former Formula 1 drivers drive there. Think Alexander Rossi, Romain Grosjean, Marcus Ericsson and Takuma Sato. Rinus 'VeeKay' van Kalmthout is currently the only Dutchman in the class. Earlier, Robert Doornbos and Arie Luyendyk also drove in the IndyCar Series. Luyendyk is to date the most successful Dutchman in the American class. He won the Indy 500 twice.

Since 2012, IndyCar teams have driven a Honda or Chevrolet V6 engine with a twin-turbocharger. The engines produce between 550 and 750 horsepower depending on the level of boost used and no inter-cooling systems. The engines are limited to 12,000 rpm and weigh 112 kilograms. From 2024, IndyCar will use hybrid engines.

Dallara provides the chassis to the teams, this chassis is currently in use since 2018. The aero package is still updated every now and then, for example, the championship has been running since 2020 with an aeroscreen manufactured by Red Bull Advanced Technologies. The aero packages also differ per circuit. There is a package for very low downforce ovals, a package for short ovals that is actually only used on Gateway and a high downforce package for the road and street circuits. Firestone has been supplying the tires since 1996, although it still had competition from Goodyear until 1999.

The points distribution of the IndyCar Series is different from what is used in Formula 1. The race winner receives 50 points, number two 40 and three 35. Number four receives 32 points and for each place lower, two points are deducted from that total to place. ten. From that position, each driver receives one point less for a place lower finish. From the 25th finish position, everyone receives five points. During the Indy 500, double points are awarded.

Read more Read less

Latest IndyCar news