Driver change at MP Motorsport in Formula 2: Argentinian junior steps in

Driver change at MP Motorsport in Formula 2: Argentinian junior steps in

25-10-2023 15:00

Ludo van Denderen

Franco Colapinto will be promoted from Formula 3 to Formula 2. During the final race weekend at the MP Motorsport team, the Argentine replaced Indian driver Jehan Daruvala, who is moving to Formula E. The Dutch team has also committed Colapinto for next season. The second driver at MP Motorsport next season is still unknown.

Colapinto finished fourth in the F3 championship last season, also on behalf of MP Motorsport. The young talent (20) is happy with the new challenge in his career. "I’m absolutely thrilled to be moving up to Formula 2 with MP," said Colapinto.

“MP are proven race winners in the category, and staying with them feels absolutely right. It’s a familiar atmosphere for me, and it will be to our advantage that we know each other so well as I enter my debut season in the category. I very much look forward to the fresh challenge of a new series, with a brand new car to help develop. I can’t wait to get in the car in Abu Dhabi and then work with the team to be ready for a long and challenging 2024 season."

Team boss Dorsman looks forward to the new season

"It’s great news that we are able to announce Franco’s promotion to our F2 team so early," MP's team boss Sander Dorsman responded. "This will give us a headstart in our preparations for an exciting 2024 F2 season in which we all start from zero, with the new F2 car offering everyone a new baseline to work from. Retaining Franco helps us to maintain stability in that transition, apart from the fact that he’s become a member of the MP family and is an extremely quick and talented driver.”

Dennis Hauger will drive MP Motorsport's second car in Abu Dhabi. The Norwegian will leave the Red Bull Junior Team after this season. Whether he will stay with MP Motorsport for the '24 season is unclear. Hauger is said to be in talks with Campos Racing.