Grand Prix

Mexican Grand Prix

Circuit length
rounds count
fastest lap

Mexican Grand Prix

The Mexican Grand Prix is one of the historic events on the Formula 1 calendar. Most recently known as the Mexico City Grand Prix, the Formula 1 World Championship has visited the venue a number of times since 1963, though not in every single season. It’s a popular circuit for Latin American and Sergio Perez fans, with some travelling from the neighbouring country, the United States of America. Max Verstappen is the most successful F1 driver at the venue, with four wins.

F1 Mexican Grand Prix 2023

The 2023 Mexican Grand Prix slots into its usual calendar position, in late October. In recent years, it’s been a venue where drama has occurred and Max Verstappen has been the victor. He started and won from pole last season, but the season prior he had to beat Valtteri Bottas off the line. It may be safe to say that won’t be happening this season, but who knows what will happen in Mexico City.

Who won the 2023 Mexican Grand Prix?

Max Verstappen won his 16th race of 2023 in a dominant fashion at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez. Lewis Hamilton showed that Mercedes’ upgrades seem to be working well for the German team and finished in P2 ahead of pole sitter Charles Leclerc. Lewis Hamilton brought home his Mercedes in second place after he had more pace than the two Ferraris throughout the day, and also got the additional point for the fastest lap of the race. Following their front row lockout on Saturday, only one Ferrari driver could step on the podium, with Charles Leclerc finishing third ahead of Carlos Sainz.

Where is the Mexican Grand Prix held?

The Mexican Grand Prix is held at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez, located near Mexico City. It is located in the capital city of Mexico, near the southern border. The circuit has been open for 63 years and is visited by F1, Formula E and the NASCAR Mexicao Series. Its location means fans from Northern and Southern America can attend, as it sits in between America and the Southern continent.

Mexican GP history

The Mexican Grand Prix has taken place at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez 22 times. The event has always been held at the circuit but was originally called the Magdalena Mixhuca Circuit and was named after Ricardo Rodríguez, the brother of Pedro Rodríguez, a Formula One driver.

Max Verstappen has won in Mexico City four times, with Jim Clark picking up two victories. Verstappen is the most successful driver at the circuit on the current grid, with Lewis Hamilton looking to close in on the Dutchman, as he has already secured two wins. They are the only drivers on the current grid to win an F1 race in Mexico. 

It’s a different story in qualifying. Clark is the most successful driver on a Saturday, with four pole positions to his name. Whilst Ayrton Senna has three pole positions. Verstappen, Hamilton, Valtteri Bottas, Charles Leclerc and Daniel Ricciardo are the drivers on the current grid to secure the P1 starting spot in Mexico City. Red Bull are the most successful team, with four wins.

What time does the Mexican F1 Grand Prix 2023 start?

The 2023 Mexican Grand Prix starts on Sunday, 29 October at 13:00 local time (20:00 BST). The rest of the weekend is the normal procedure. Therefore, the first and second 60-minute practice sessions take place on Friday, 27 October at 12:30 (19:30 BST) and 16:00 local time (23:00 BST). The third and final practice session is in the morning on Saturday at 11:30 local time (18:30 BST) with qualifying in the afternoon at 15:00 local time (22:00 BST), which will form the grid for Sunday’s Grand Prix.