Mexican Grand Prix

Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez

First grand prix 1962

Number of laps 71

Race distance 305.354KM

Circuit length 4.304KM

About the Mexican Grand Prix

The Mexican Grand Prix is one of the most popular Grand Prix on the calendar. It first appeared as a non-championship event in 1962 before being held as a championship event in 1963–1970 and 1986–1992. The Grand Prix returned in 2015 at the Mexico City circuit.

The fans at the Mexican Grand Prix are always passionate and support for Sergio Perez, the only Mexican driver on the grid, is always high.

Hermanos-Rodriguez Track Guide

The circuit is made up of 17 corners and features two long straights which create the 4.304 km lap. Named the Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez circuit after drivers Ricardo and Pedro Rodríguez the track hosts a wide range of different racing Formulas and series.

The FIA World Endurance Championship uses the circuit as well as the Race of Champions and the NASCAR Xfinity series to name a few.

The circuit is owned by the Mexican Government and is located within the public park of the Magdalena Mixhuca Sports City in southeast Mexico City. The venue hosts many different events with music concerts and baseball games all being hosted there.

 

Race history

Rumours first circulated in 2003 that the Mexican Grand Prix would return to the Formula 1 calendar at a new $70 million circuit to be built near Cancun but these rumours turned out to be false. In 2005 a Mexican governor stated that Formula 1 would return the country but once again politics got in the way of this actually happening.

In 2006 Bernie Ecclestone said that Mexico would feature in Formula 1 in 2009 but again these plans were never put into action. It was not until 2015 that the Mexican Grand Prix was back on the F1 calendar.  

The Mexican Grand Prix has been held 20 times across the past few decades and Jim Clarke has the most number of wins with three. Lotus have been the most successful constructor, picking up a total of four wins in total.

The 2015 Mexican Grand Prix was won by Nico Rosberg in his Mercedes and the team were dominant throughout the weekend

In 2016 it would be Rosberg's team mate Lewis Hamilton who would win the race in an equally dominant fashion to the Germans the year before.

The 2017 race saw Max Verstappen take the victory after a second place in qualifying gave him a strong position for a race victory.

In 2018 Red Bull performed well at the circuit again with Daniel Ricciardo taking pole with a 1.14.759 and his then teammate Max Verstappen going on to get the race win for the second year in a row.

When is the 2019 Mexican Grand Prix?

The race weekend in Mexico kicks off Friday October 25th, with Free Practice 1 starting at 10am local time (4pm BST, 11am EST). FP2 starts that afternoon at 2pm (8pm BST, 3pm EST). On Saturday, FP3 starts at 10am local time (4pm BST, 11am EST), and qualifying for the Mexican Grand Prix takes place at 1pm on Saturday (7pm BST, 2pm EST).

The Mexican Grand Prix will start at 1.10pm local time on Sunday October 27th (7.10pm BST, 2.10pm EST).

 

 

Session Date Time
Practice 1 25 October 2019 11:00 - 12:30
Practice 2 25 October 2019 15:00 - 16:30
Practice 3 26 October 2019 11:00 - 12:00
Qualifying 26 October 2019 14:00 - 15:00
Race 27 October 2019 15:10 - 17:10
Times are in America/New_York Timezone
Read more Read less Show timetable

Mexican Grand Prix News

You will be logged out and redirected to the homepage