Formula E Media


Dennis retains lead in Formula E standings, Wehrlein closes in

Dennis retains lead in Formula E standings, Wehrlein closes in

27 January - 19:58 Last update: 28 January - 09:49

Pascal Wehrlein recorded the second victory of his Formula E career on Friday after an excellent overtaking race in Diriyah. Jake Dennis, however, retains the lead in the standings, albeit with just one point advantage.

Dennis leads Formula E classification ahead of Wehrlein

Whereas Wehrlein finished second behind Dennis in the opening race in Mexico, the roles were reversed on Friday. Dennis' one-point lead is due to the fact that he also set the fastest lap in the first race. At the first ePrix in Diriyah, the fastest lap went to René Rast.

The season has only just begun, but at the moment Dennis and Wehrlein are the benchmark. Sebastien Buemi follows in third place, but has to concede 20 points to Wehrlein. Behind them we find Lucas di Grassi, Sam Bird and André Lotterer. Di Grassi and Bird both scored third place in the first two races of the year.

Following on P7 is Jake Hughes, who dropped from the front row to eighth on Friday. René Rast, Nick Cassidy and Jean-Eric Vergne complete the top ten. Further back, reigning world champion Stoffel Vandoorne can be found in thirteenth place: he scored his only point so far in the first race of the season.

Formula E standings

1 Jake Dennis - 44 points

2 Pascal Wehrlein - 43 points

3 Sébastien Buemi - 23 points

4 Lucas Di Grassi - 18 points

5 Sam Bird - 15 points

6 André Lotterer - 14 points

7 Jake Hughes - 14 points

8 René Rast - 11 points

9 Nick Cassidy - 10 points

10 Jean-Éric Vergne - 6 points

11 António Félix Da Costa - 6 points

12 Mitch Evans - 5 points

13 Stoffel Vandoorne - 1 point

14 Maximilian Günther - 0 points

15 Norman Nato - 0 points

16 Oliver Rowland - 0 points

17 Dan Ticktum - 0 points

18 Nico Mueller - 0 points

19 Sérgio Sette Câmara - 0 points

20 Sacha Fenestraz - 0 points

21 Kelvin Van der Linde - 0 points

22 Edoardo Mortara - 0 points

23 Robin Frijns - 0 points