Yas Marina Circuit

About 30 kilometers drive from the center of Abu Dhabi, the capital of the United Arab Emirates, is the Yas Marina Circuit. The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix has been held here since 2009 and is usually considered the final race of the season in F1.

Monaco in the Persian Gulf

When the plans for the Yas Marina Circuit were presented, the intention of the Arabs was to create a kind of Monaco feeling. Where the cars would drive along the harbor and through a hypermodern city. There was only one problem, that city did not yet exist.

As you know, in the Emirates people don't let that kind of detail stop them, so the construction of the complex was started before 2009. When it was finished, it didn't immediately remind us of a city, but there was a marina and the hotel with its luminous roof is an eye-catcher every year.

Hermann Tilke may want to modify the design

In the meantime a lot has been built around the 5,554 kilometer long circuit. The immense Ferrari World opened its doors in 2010 and one of the largest shopping malls in the world is already connected to it. The circuit itself has remained unchanged, although designer Hermann Tilke thinks to modify it.

His design hasn't entirely succeeded when it comes to overtaking possibilities. With a double DRS zone on the two consecutive straights, the FIA and Formula 1 have already tried to increase the number of overtaking actions on the track. This has been achieved, but on the rest of the circuit, which had to partly mimic a street circuit, overtaking is virtually impossible.

Title race at sunset

With the exception of the years 2011 to 2013, the GP of Abu Dhabi at Yas Marina is invariably the end of the season since the first race in 2009. As the race starts at nightfall, the F1 season ends with the sun slowly disappearing behind the horizon.

So it's like a nightmare, and unfortunately this has also been the case for the title race in recent years. Only twice the title was fought in the last race of the season at Yas Marina. The first time was in 2010, when as many as four drivers had a chance to win the title and Sebastian Vettel eventually became the youngest world champion ever.

The second title battle took place in 2016, between teammates Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton. Lewis Hamilton was defeated at the time, but he is the most successful driver on the Yas Marina Circuit. The Briton won five times in total, once with McLaren and four times with Mercedes.

Read more Read less

Latest Yas Marina Circuit news