Indy 500 qualifying: Rosenqvist fastest, Grosjean eliminated

F1 News

Results qualifying Indy 500 veekay grosjean
21 May 2023 at 07:42
Last update 21 May 2023 at 08:34

The first part of qualifying is over for the 107th Indianapolis 500. In this part, the starting positions thirteen to thirty are determined, with the top 12 advancing to the next part of qualifying, which takes place today. Felix Rosenqvist was the fastest in Indianapolis, while former Formula One driver Romain Grosjean has already been eliminated.

Indy 500 qualifying is similar to F1 qualifying. Both include three qualifying sessions and each time a number of drivers drop out. In the Indy 500, most of them drop out in the first session. The second part of qualifying (Fast Twelve) contains the fastest 12 drivers and in the all-decisive final part (Fast Six), only six drivers take part.

Top three

For qualifying in the Indy 500, average speed is used as the benchmark. Number one Felix Rosenqvist had an average speed of 233.947 mph (376.187 km/h!). Alexander Rossi was second and Indycar championship leader Alex Palou was third.

Surprising elimination

Surprisingly, four-time winner of the famous American race Helio Castronoves was eliminated in the first part, the Brazilian did not progress beyond spot 20. Ahead of Castronoves starts former F1 driver Romain Grosjean, who is thus also eliminated early. Colton Herta has also already been eliminated. The American who is much associated with Formula 1 did not get beyond 21st position.

Full results

Below the full results are shown with the average speed of the drivers. This year there are 34 participants, however, only 33 drivers are allowed to enter the race. For this reason, there is a Last Chance qualification, in which four drivers compete for the last three starting positions.

1. Felix Rosenqvist: 233.947
2. Alexander Rossi: 233.528
3. Alex Palou: 233.398
4. Rinus VeeKay: 233.395
5. Scott Dixon: 233.375
6. Tony Kanaan: 233.347
7. Takuma Sato: 233.322
8. Pato O'Ward: 233.252
9. Santino Ferrucci: 233.147
10. Marcus Ericsson: 233.030
11. Benjamin Pedersen: 232.739
12. Will Power: 232.719
13. Ed Carpenter: 232.689
14. Scott McLaughlin: 232.677
15. Kyle Kirkwood: 232.662
16. Conor Daly: 232.433
17. Josef Newgarden: 232.402
18. Ryan Hunter-Reay: 232.133
19. Romain Grosjean: 231.997
20. Helio Castroneves: 231.954
21. Colton Herta: 231.951
22. Simon Pagenaud: 231.878
23. David Malukas: 231.769
24. Marco Andretti: 231.682
25. Stefan Wilson: 231.648
26. Devlin DeFrancesco: 231.353
27. Callum Ilott: 231.320
28. Agustin Canapino: 231.182
29. R.C. Enerson: 231.129
30. Katherine Legge: 231.070
31. Christian Lundgaard: Last Chance
32. Jack Harvey: Last Chance
33. Sting Ray Robb: Last Chance
34. Graham Rahal: Last Chance