Grand Prix

British Grand Prix

Circuit length
5.891 km
rounds count
fastest lap

Formula 1 British Grand Prix

The home race of a number of big, iconic teams is back on the agenda. At Silverstone, fans will be cheering extra hard for the teams based in the UK. There are also plenty of home drivers that they can encourage. Lewis Hamilton, Lando Norris and George Russell will feel the home crowd, as well as Alexander Albon. 

F1 Standings

1SAICarlos SainzFerrari-1:31.526-
2PERSergio PerezRed Bull Racing-+3.779-
3HAMLewis HamiltonMercedes AMG F1 team-+6.225-
4LECCharles LeclercFerrari-+8.546-
5ALOFernando AlonsoAlpine F1 team-+9.571-
6NORLando NorrisMcLaren-+11.943-
7VERMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-+18.777-
8SCHMick SchumacherHaas F1-+18.995-
9VETSebastian VettelAston Martin F1 team-+22.356-
10MAGKevin MagnussenHaas F1-+24.590-
11STRLance StrollAston Martin F1 team-+26.147-
12LATNicholas LatifiWilliams-+32.511-
13RICDaniel RicciardoMcLaren-+32.817-
14TSUYuki TsunodaScuderia AlphaTauri-+40.910-
15RUSGeorge RussellMercedes AMG F1 team-DNF-
16ZHOGuanyu ZhouAlfa Romeo F1 team-DNF-
17GASPierre GaslyScuderia AlphaTauri-DNF-
18BOTValtteri BottasAlfa Romeo F1 team-DNF-
19OCOEsteban OconAlpine F1 team-DNF-
20ALBAlex AlbonWilliams-DNF-

The 2022 British Grand Prix

England, the birthplace of Formula One, as many call it. After all, the first Grand Prix was held here, although that was over 70 years ago. Today, Silverstone is still the Grand Prix of the season that many teams are looking forward to. It is also a special circuit for most drivers, as the track demands a lot.

Fast rules, technical sections of corners and, above all, a lot of speed. In the first sector, today's cars have so much grip that the average speed has only increased in recent years. In addition, the hairpin offers additional overtaking opportunities.

In recent seasons, Silverstone has always caused problems with the tyres. In 2020, Lewis Hamilton managed to cross the finish line with a flat tyre, while Carlos Sainz and Valtteri Bottas also had tyre problems towards the end of the race. In 2021, Pirelli came up with a firmer rubber, mainly due to the retirements of Lance Stroll and Max Verstappen in Baku that same year.

What does the British Grand Prix race weekend look like?

The first press conferences are scheduled for Friday morning. Later in the day, the drivers will take place in their cars to run the free practice sessions. FP1 is scheduled for July 1 at 1pm [UK time], two hours after which the second practice session will be held. Qualifying starts on Saturday, July 2 at 3pm, followed by the race on Sunday, July 3.

What time does the British Grand Prix start?

As in previous years, the British GP can be followed live on the blog from half an hour before the start of the race. The start time of the British Grand Prix is 15:00 (UK time) and the race can also be followed live on your local TV option from that time.