Deletraz snatches 12-hour race win by less than a second difference

Deletraz snatches 12-hour race win by less than a second difference

17 March - 10:28

Ludo van Denderen

Co-owners Wayne Taylor and Michael Andretti have found success as the team fronted by Louis Deletraz, Jordan Taylor, and Colton Herta won a dramatic 12-hour race in Sebring. Deletraz worked hard in the closing stages of the race and beat the number 01 Cadillac Racing V-Series.R with Sebastien Bourdais, Renger van der Zande and Scott Dixon by eight-tenths at the finish line.

Van der Zande, Sebastien Bourdais and Scott Dixon drove a fine race in Sebring. Starting from second place, they competed for the top spots throughout the race. In the closing stages of the race, closing driver Bourdais was in fourth place, but due to competitors' pit stops, he could advance to the lead. In the final hour, the Frenchman drove three seconds away from Felipe Nasr in the Porsche and Louis Deletraz in the Acura.

Deletraz passed team Van der Zande in the closing stages

However, the latter - after a yellow flag situation - came all the way back into the race, trailing Bourdais by six-tenths with 15 minutes to go. What followed was an exciting battle, with both drivers working side-by-side through traffic. In the end, Bourdais had to capitulate five minutes before the end, and Swiss driver Deletraz passed him.

The polesitter also did not make it to the finish line. Pipo Derani was driving the second Cadillac in the lead when he came into contact with a slower competitor when overtaking. It led to a spectacular crash. Derani remained unhurt.